Civic Engagement Coalition

Civic Engagement Coalition:

The Civic Engagement Coalition works with the Civic Engagement Coordinator to promote democratic practice and values among students, faculty, and staff; to create and coordinate purposeful experiences within and beyond the classroom; and to develop knowledge, skills, motivation, and practice necessary for becoming responsible, engaged citizens in a pluralistic, democratic society.  The coalition is composed of students, faculty, and staff who are interested in furthering the mission of the committee and is chaired by the Civic Engagement Coordinator. While all interested members of the college community are encouraged to serve on the CEC, the following areas should be represented:

  • The four academic schools/colleges and Penfield Library
  • Student Association Office of Civic Engagement
  • The Center for Community Service and Service Learning
  • Residence Life and Housing
  • Offices directly engaged in linking the college with the wider Oswego community, such as EXCEL: Experiential Courses and Engaged Learning, Business and Community Relations, and Extended Learning.
  • The Associate Provost, Chair of Faculty Assembly, and Dean for Student Affairs serve ex officio.

The committee meets once monthly during the academic year to report on and make recommendations about curricular and co-curricular civic engagement activity.

Membership for 2019-2020:

Michelle Bandla, EXCEL
Catherine Farrell, Community Services
Lisa Glidden, Political Science
Mohammad Islam, Physics
Kerisha Lewis, Alumni & Development
Grace Maxon, EOP
Rosemarie Pupparo, FITW
Allison Rank, Political Science, Chair
Dan Roberts, Campus Life
Jessica Slack, Financial Aid
John Spring, Business Law
Angelina Storelli, Residence Life and Housing
Katherine Thweatt, Communication Studies
Leigh Viscomi, Residence Life and Housing
Jason Zenor, Communication Studies

ex officio:

Jerri Howland, Dean of Students