Scholarly and Creative Activity Committee

The purpose of the committee is to:

  • promote and encourage scholarly and creative activity including enhancement of the climate, resources, opportunity, and recognition for faculty, staff, and students.conducting scholarly and creative activities;
  • assist the Associate Provost for Research Development and Administration and act as an advisory committee for this office;
  • advise the president and provost in matters relating to scholarly and creative activity and assist them with recognizing and supporting scholarly and creative activity and grant development by faculty, staff, and students.

Membership: As there are many types of scholarly and creative activities expressive of different areas of study, the committee should have a large and diverse membership. The group meets once a month on Wednesday mornings.

Membership for 2021-2022

Christopher Chandler, co-chair, Biological Sciences
Alanna Ossa, co-chair, Anthropology
Yulia Artemenko, Biological Sciences
Matthew Baker, Chemistry
Kestutis Bendinskas, Chemistry
Isabelle Bichindaritz, Computer Science
Indu Rasika Churchill, Mathematics
Ioana Coman, Computer Science
Dean Crawford, Accounting Finance and Law
Arvind Diddi, Communication Studies
Adam Fay, Psychology
Poongodi Geetha-Loganathan, Biological Sciences
Lenuta Giukin, Modern Languages and Literatures
Tiphanie Gonzalez, Counseling and Psychological Services
Bonita Hampton, Curriculum and Instruction
Sarah Hanusch, Mathematics
Charlene Harris, Human Development
Sien Hu, Psychology
Lowell Hutcheson, ARTSwego
Jennifer Joyce, Mentor Program
Sungeun Kim, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Paul Leary, Music
Heather Losi, Accounting Finance and Law
Toby Malone, Theatre
Grace Maxon-Clarke, Educational Opportunity Program
David McLain, Marketing and Management
Taylor Miller, Linguistics
Kenneth Nichols, English and Creative Writing
Rebecca Peters, Anthropology
Joshua Plencner, Political Science
Mary Rodgers, Accounting Finance and Law
Priyanka Rupasinghe, Physics
Jaclyn Schildkraut, Criminal Justice
Jeremy Shifton, Criminal Justice
Bastian Tenbergen, Computer Science
Zachary Vickery, Penfield Library

ex officio:
William Bowers, Associate Provost for Research Development and Administration
Taejin Jung, RISE Director

Meeting Dates for Fall 2022
SCAC Meetings - Fall 2022
Wednesday 07-SEP-2022 (Full SCAC)
Wednesday 05-OCT-2022 (SCAC Advisory)
Wednesday 12-OCT-2022 (Full SCAC)
Wednesday 02-NOV-2022 (SCAC Advisory)
Wednesday 09-NOV-2022 (Full SCAC)
Wednesday 07-DEC-2022 (Full SCAC)
Meeting Dates for Spring 2023


Campus Grant Programs Reviewed by SCAC

SCAC reviews a large selection of the internal grants provided on campus. The guidelines and information for all grant programs peer-reviewed by SCAC can be found on ORSP's "Internal Grants" page. 

Information for Members

The following links are accessible to SCAC members only when signed into their email account.