Human Subjects Committee


Committee description
The faculty, staff, and students of SUNY Oswego are obligated to comply with US Department of Health and Human Services regulations for the protection of human participants in research. Any member of the campus community participating in a research project --including but not limited to laboratory experiments, field studies, and interviews -- is entitled to be free from possible injury and/or psychological harm and to maintain his/her personal privacy. The committee was formed to ensure that these guidelines are followed, therefore protecting human research participants used by researchers on our campus.

The HSC comprises members from diverse backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities covered by this assurance, who have the professional competence necessary to review the specific research activities assigned to it. 

Membership for 2015-2016
Isabelle Bichindaritz
, Computer Science
David Bozak, chair, Psychology
Barry Friedman, School of Business
Christina Leclerc, Psychology
James McDougal, Counseling and Psychological Services 
Michael Nehring, Technology Education
Mehran Nojan, Institutional Research and Assessment
Benjamin Ogwo, Vocational Teacher Preparation
Laura Spenceley, Counseling and Psychological Services