Human Subjects Committee

IMPORTANT: the NIH training is no longer available!

Changes to the Common Rule

After many years of discussion and revision and delay, significant changes to the Common Rule take effect beginning July 19, 2018. Local IRBs are to transition to the new rules by December 31, 2018 and may transition in stages rather than adopt all changes at the same time.

SUNY Human Subjects Committee will use the support of the Department of Health and Human Services Office of Human Research Protection to accomplish this transition and will update this page as that transition progresses.

Two changes which SUNY HSC will adopt effective July 19, 2018 are:

  1. The following are explicitly deemed to not be research, thus exempt from review by HSC:  Scholarly and journalistic activities (e.g., oral history, journalism, biography, literary criticism, legal research and historical scholarship), including the collection and use of information that focuses directly on the specific individuals about whom the information is collected.
  2. The new Common Rule eliminates the requirement in the pre-2018 rule that grant applications undergo IRB review and approval for the purposes of certification.

There will be no immediate change in the process of submitting research proposals for review. The fall semester will see the creation of new material and submission forms and procedures based on the revised Common Rule with full transition on January 1, 2019. 

To review the new Common Rule, please see

A collection of videos describing changes to the Common Rule can be found at


Committee description
The faculty, staff, and students of SUNY Oswego are obligated to comply with US Department of Health and Human Services regulations for the protection of human participants in research. Any member of the campus community participating in a research project --including but not limited to laboratory experiments, field studies, and interviews -- is entitled to be free from possible injury and/or psychological harm and to maintain his/her personal privacy. The committee was formed to ensure that these guidelines are followed, therefore protecting human research participants used by researchers on our campus.

The HSC comprises members from diverse backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities covered by this assurance, who have the professional competence necessary to review the specific research activities assigned to it. 

Membership for 2018-2019

Elizabeth Benevento, Health Promotion and Wellness
Isabelle Bichindaritz, Computer Science
David Bozak, chair, Psychology
Ioana Coman, Computer Science
Barry Friedman, School of Business
Charlene Harris, Human Development
Benjamin Ogwo, Career and Technical Educator Preparation
Sean Pfeil, Community Member
Jaclyn Schildkraut, Public Justice
Kristin Lee Sotak, School of Business
Laura Spenceley, Counseling & Psychological Services
Bastian Tenbergen, Computer Science
Katherine Thweatt, Communication Studies
Jason Zenor, Communication Studies