Small Teaching Reading Group

FALL 2017 Reading Group

BOOK: Small Teaching: Every Day Lessons from the Science of Learning

by James M. Lang.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

11:00 am - Keynote address livestream: https://goo.gl/mHrhni

1:45 - 2:45 pm Q&A session: https://zoom.us/j/7322667156

Remote access to all of the scheduled meetings below: https://zoom.us/j/7322667156

To participate in person at SUNY-Oswego, join us in 123 Penfield Library.

Introduction: Small Teaching & Chapter 1: Retrieving

Monday, August 28 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm
Tuesday, August 29 from 9:35am - 10:30am

Wednesday, August 30 from 9:10am - 10:05am

Wednesday, August 30 from 3:00pm - 3:55pm

Thursday, August 31 from 12:45pm - 1:40pm

(The calendar links above contain links to all of the meetings at that time slot.)

Chapter 2: Predicting

Monday, September 11 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm
Tuesday, September 12 from 9:35am - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 13 from 9:10am - 10:05am
Wednesday, September 13 from 3:00pm - 3:55pm
Thursday, September 14 from 12:45pm - 1:40pm

Chapter 3: Interleaving

Monday, September 18 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, September 19 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, September 20 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, September 20 from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield

Thursday, September 21 from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 4: Connecting

Monday, September 25 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, September 26 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, September 27 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, September 27 from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, September 28 from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 5: Practicing

Monday, October 2 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, October 3 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 4 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 4  from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, October 5  from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 6: Self-Explaining

Monday, October 9 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, October 10 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 11 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 11  from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, October 12  from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 7: Motivating

Monday, October 23 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, October 24 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 25 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, October 25  from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, October 26  from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 8: Growing

Monday, October 30 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, October 31 from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, November 1 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, November 1  from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, November 2  from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield

Chapter 9: Expanding & Conclusion:Beginning

Monday, November 6 from 12:40pm - 1:35pm in 123 Penfield
Tuesday, November 7  from 9:35am - 10:30am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, November 8 from 9:10am - 10:05am in 123 Penfield
Wednesday, November 8  from 3:00pm - 3:55pm in 123 Penfield
Thursday, November 9  from 12:45pm - 1:40pm in 123 Penfield