SUNY Oswego is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) (3624 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19104, 267.284.5000) The MSCHE is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education.  All academic programs have been approved and registered by the New York State Education Department (Office of Higher Education, Education Building Addition, Albany, NY 12234, 518.474.5851).

The School of Education is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) through December 2021.  On July 1, 2013 NCATE consolidated with the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) to form the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).  CAEP became the sole accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPP).   The School of Education is scheduled for a CAEP site visit for continuing accreditation in Spring 2021.

The School of Business is accredited by AACSB International – the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (600 Emerson Road, Suite 300, St. Louis, MO 63141, 314.872.8481).

The art department earned accreditation from National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

The chemistry department is accredited by the American Chemical Society in both the chemistry and biochemistry majors.

The human resource management program is endorsed by the Society for Human Resource Management.

The music department is an accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

The school psychology program is accredited by the National Association of School Psychologists.

The technology department received accreditation from the Council on Technology Teacher Education.

The theatre department is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre.

Our University Police department is accredited by the New York State Law Enforcement Accreditation Council.

Walker Health Center is accredited by the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care.