Honors Convocation

Additional Navigation

SUNY Oswego

SUNY Oswego's annual Honors Convocation -- the 2018 edition set for 3 p.m. Friday, April 6, in the Marano Campus Center arena -- celebrates the academic achievements of around 115 students throughout the disciplines. Sponsored by Vega, the student women's honor society, the event takes place during Oswego's Honors Week highlighting the outstanding accomplishments of students and faculty.

Awards from departments, the Oswego Alumni Association, Oswego College Foundation and Division of Extended Learning, as well as the Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence, will mark this joyous celebration of academic success.

Members of the campus community, family members and friends are invited to attend the admission-free event.

About our speaker

Honors Convocation speaker Kathy BowerA 1985 SUNY Oswego graduate, Kathy Bower is managing partner of the Gager Emerson law firm. Admitted to practice law in three states -- New York, Connecticut and New Jersey -- she does so in state and federal courts in a wide variety of civil matters. Recently she was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of the United States.

A magna cum laude Oswego graduate with history and public justice degrees, Bower received her juris doctor degree from Hofstra University School of Law. where she was an articles editor for the Hofstra Labor Law Journal. 

She holds positions as a special master in the United States District Court and as attorney trial referee and fact finder at the Superior Court level. Bower is also general counsel for New England Enterprise LLC, a consulting firm with a focus on healthcare business in emerging Asian markets, which has allowed her to travel extensively throughout mainland China.

She has received recognition as America’s Most Honored Professionals, National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers, New England SuperLawyer, Nation’s Top One Percent Attorneys, 10 Best Female Attorneys for Connecticut and a Lifetime Charter Member for Best Attorneys of America.  

The Southbury, Connecticut, resident performs annually in the "Nutcracker" ballet, and serves on not-for-profit boards, including the local Audubon Center, Regional School Perpetual Fund and the Connecticut Community Foundation, where she chairs the Women’s Development Fund.