All SUNY campuses are designated as "tax-free communities" providing abatement (not credit) of New York state sales, property and business taxes, in addition to no income tax for employees for a period of 10 years.

Up to 200,000 square feet within one mile of our main campus, SUNY Oswego's Syracuse Campus in downtown Syracuse or Syracuse Tech Garden may qualify.

New businesses:

  • Must align with campus programs and services, and
  • Must be a new start-up, or out-of-state, or expansion creating net new jobs

Opportunities for companies to align with us include:

  • Industry collaborative research
  • Technology transfer research
  • Research publications and patents
  • Fellowships
  • Co-op placements
  • Internships

Business types that do NOT qualify for partnerships under Start-Up NY:

  • retail and wholesale businesses
  • restaurants
  • real estate brokers
  • law firms
  • medical or dental practices
  • real estate management companies hospitality
  • finance and financial services
  • businesses providing personal services businesses providing business administrative or support services (unless the business is creating at least 100 new jobs and has received permission to participate)
  • accounting firms
  • businesses providing utilities or energy production and distribution companies

Read campus plan (PDF)