The Latino Student Union is proud to announce that Jayvana Perez and Yadi Aranda Burgos are this year's recipients of the Eugenio Maria de Hostos Scholarship.

Perez is a junior majoring in criminal justice and communications with social interaction and minoring in human development. She is the madam president of the Latino Student Union, a peer health educator and a sexpert with the Deans of Students Office while also being a resident assistant for Cayuga Hall.

Burgos is a junior majoring in criminal justice and human development with a minor in forensic science. She is the president of the Caribbean Student Association, treasurer for Two and a Half, director of programming for Women's Center and vice president of membership for Alpha Phi Omega.

LSU congratulates these recipients and offers a special thank you to donors and retired longtime Oswego administrators Monico Soto-Granado and Marta Santiago.

This scholarship was established by faculty and staff of SUNY Oswego through the Oswego College Foundation and is named after Eugenio Maria De Hostos in honor of the 19th-century Puerto Rican educator. It recognizes LSU members who have demonstrated academic achievement and contributed to the cultural diversity of the SUNY Oswego campus.