Program Staff

Director–Gwen Kay
Dr. Kay, a professor of history, received her bachelor's degree in both biology and history from Bowdoin College, and her master's and doctoral degrees in history of medicine and science from Yale University. She teaches primarily late 19th- and early 20th-century American history, history of medicine and science, and women's history. Her research interests include federal regulations about cosmetics, science education for women in the late 20th century and the relationship between cookbooks, health information, and diet trends.
She joined the SUNY Oswego history department in 2000 and has taught in the Honors Program almost since her arrival on campus. She has served as associate director of the Honors Program, as well as on the SUNY Oswego Women's Studies Advisory Board and the Honors Advisory Board. She is currently the college's Faculty Senator. In addition, she has served as a consultant to the Onondaga County Medical Society and on the Council on Education for the American Association for the History of Medicine. She is currently treasurer of the Forum for History of Science in America.

Associate Director–Casey C. RaymondPhoto of Casey Raymond
Dr. Raymond received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Michigan State University and his Ph.D. in chemistry from Colorado State University. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Northwestern University. He teaches general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, geochemistry and food and fermentation science courses. His research interests are in solid state chemistry, crystallography, metal complexation and food science.
Dr. Raymond joined SUNY Oswego in 2003 and has taught several courses in the Honors Program, including one with a study-abroad component. He served as the co-chair of the Campus Concept Committee, the President’s Climate Commitment and Environmental Sustainability Committee and was chair of the Sciences Planning Committee for the Shineman Center. Dr. Raymond is also a director for the Richard S. Shineman Foundation. In 2017, Dr. Raymond received the President’s Award for Teaching Excellence and the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2019. He is a member of Phi Kappa Phi (the national liberal arts honor society) and Phi Beta Delta (honors society for international scholars).


Director Emeriti
Robert Moore
Dr. Moore received his bachelor's degree in economics from Vanderbilt University and his MA and PhD. degrees in English from the University of Virginia. He became a member of the SUNY Oswego English faculty in 1978 and served as director of composition from 1979 to 1989, and as English department chair from 1992 through 2001. In 1988, he received the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching and in 2004 the President's Award for Excellence in Student Advising.

He taught primarily in the areas of late 19th- and 20th-century American literature, modern drama and theories and methods of teaching composition. He has authored several articles on the work of William Faulkner and F. Scott Fitzgerald. He served as president of the campus chapter of the honor society Phi Kappa Phi. In 2005, he served with six other scholars of composition studies across SUNY to develop standards by which colleges and universities could evaluate the achievements of their freshman writing programs. He also served as member and then as chair of the American Literature Committee for the Educational Testing Service, the group charged with developing test questions in American literature for the CLEP examinations. He is a member of National Council of Teachers of English, the Society for the Study of Southern Culture and The Fitzgerald Society.

Norman Weiner
Dr. Weiner received his undergraduate degree from Boston University and his master's and doctoral degrees in sociology from Syracuse University. He is the author and co-author of several books and numerous articles and papers, primarily in the areas of policing, juvenile delinquency and honors education. He has served as consultant to a number of local and state agencies, including Madison County, Oswego County, Onondaga County and the New York State Department of Correctional Services, and has sat on the boards of such organizations as the Alzheimer's Association of Central New York.

He joined the Oswego faculty in 1971, and in 1998 was promoted to the rank of Distinguished Service Professor of Sociology. In 1973, he received the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching. In 2000, he was named SUNY Oswego Student Association's Professor of the Year. In addition to his teaching in sociology and public justice, he has served SUNY Oswego as assistant dean of arts and sciences and as director of General Education. From 2003 through 2004, Dr. Weiner served as president of the National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC), the national association of college and university honors programs and honors colleges. In 1997 and 1998, Dr. Weiner was president of the Northeast Region of the National Collegiate Honors Council. He served on the Editorial Board of SUNY Press from 1999 until 2003, and as its chair from 2001. He is a member of Alpha Kappa Delta (the national sociology honor society), Phi Kappa Phi (the national liberal arts honor society) and Omicron Delta Kappa (the national campus leadership honor society).