9/11 Memorial

SUNY Oswego’s 9/11 Memorial is located on the southern shore of Glimmerglass Lagoon and west of The Village. Financed using funds collected by the classes of ‘02, ‘03, ‘04 and ‘05, the memorial was dedicated on Sept. 11, 2005. The memorial was built specifically in remembrance of the 12 SUNY Oswego alumni who perished during the attacks: James Potorti ‘72, Wendy Morris Faulkner ‘74, Leo Roberts ‘79, Michael O’Brien ‘81, Michael Collins ‘84, Michael Hannan ‘89, Richard Caproni ‘89, Michael Cawley ‘91, Melissa Renee Vincent ’94, Scott Bart ‘95, James Woods ‘97, and Michelle Bratton ‘00. The plaque for the memorial was constructed by Shawn Boshart ‘89, owner of Oswego County Monuments, while the plants and flowers surrounding the space were donated by professor emerita Ellen Hornig, the former owner of Seneca Hill Perennials.

“Two seniors from the class of ‘02 decided they wanted to have their class gift go toward honoring the victims. Alice Messini and Tim Barnhart went to the other three classes of students at the time and asked for help gathering funds. We worked with Facilities to make sure that it was a blooming and lively memorial, particularly in the fall. A lot of people come back to visit, especially in early September.” - Michelle Spinner, Associate Director of Stewardship at the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations