Institutional Research and Assessment


The mission of the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment (IR & A) is to provide administrative and technical support for policy and decision making, and to assist the process of long-range planning at the State University of New York College at Oswego.  

GOALS AND OBJECTIVES In order to fulfill its mission, the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment is committed to achieving the following principal goals and their related objectives:

The College

State University of New York at Oswego is a comprehensive college and a member of the SUNY educational system. The campus is located along the shores of Lake Ontario two miles west of the City of Oswego, and 30 miles North of Syracuse on Route 104.  There is also a branch campus in Syracuse (SUNY Oswego Syracuse Campus) .

The Faculty

The number of full time teaching faculty totaled 359 during the Fall of 2016. The number of part time teaching faculty totaled 214 during the Fall of 2016.

Eighty-eight percent of the full-time teaching faculty hold doctorate degrees or a highest terminal degree, and twelve percent have master’s degrees.

Sixty-nine percent of eligible faculty members are tenured.

The Students

In Fall 2017, there were roughly 8,026 students enrolled at SUNY College at Oswego, about 7,125 undergraduates and 901 graduates.
The undergraduate student body is generally traditional. More than 77% of full-time students are between 18 and 21 years old, and 97.3% are studying full-time toward a degree.
The ratio of male to female undergraduate students is close to 51:49

College Council

Ms. Darlene BakerBernhards Bay2007-2014
Mr. Saleem CheeksAlbany2006-2013
Mr. Richard FarfagliaFulton2012-2018
Mr. Michael J. GoldychOswego2008-2014
Mr. Brian McGrathNew York2013-2019
Mr. James McMahon, ChairCentral Square2008-2015
Mr. Baye MuhammadSyracuse2013-2018

Officers of the College

Deborah Stanley


Walter Roettger

Acting Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Jerald Woolfolk

Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management 

Nicholas Lyons

Vice President for Administration and Finance

Mary Canale

Interim Vice President for Development and Public Affairs

Adrienne McCormick