Visit Us

The best way to experience our friendly, learner-centered community is to visit.

Intro video

One video, 60 seconds, countless reasons to consider SUNY Oswego.

Student Life Featured Image
Get involved

Explore our nearly 200 clubs and organizations that can forge connections and create opportunities.

Alumni Featured Image
Homecoming returns

The first Homecoming in decades will unfold Nov. 14 with a host of spirited activities.

News and Events Featured Image
Oswego rising

Lakeshore college continues climb in ratings, reviews.

You are here

About us

The Educational Administration Department at SUNY Oswego was established in 1967. Since then, two generations of professors have guided hundreds of graduates into the field of educational administration. Building on the strengths of past traditions, the faculty continues to modify, update and improve its curriculum and foster new partnerships.

Dr. John Readling, the founder of the program, retired in 1991, leaving a legacy of excellence in the preparation of school leaders that is unparalleled in New York state. Oswego graduates currently serve as assistant principals, principals, directors, assistant superintendents, superintendents, district superintendents, assistant state commissioners and state commissioners of education.

From 1985 until 2001, Dr. Linda Tinelli Sheive chaired the department. Her leadership set the stage for the program to achieve national ELCC accreditation.  From 2001 through 2010, Dr. Suzanne Gilmour provided leadership for Educational Administration Department. In spring 2011, Ms. Angela Perrotto assumed the position of department chair, and the focus continues to be in providing the knowledge, skills and dispositions necessary to lead staff and students successfully into the future global work place.

For nearly five decades, the department has demanded that candidates work in teams in all courses. As a result, Oswego EAD alumni are known for their ability to lead teams effectively and for their strong professional networks.

The development of issue analysis teams and a focus on authentic learning continues to make SUNY Oswego's Educational Administration program unique and have ensured that the Oswego program remains firmly on the cutting edge of leadership preparation in the nation.