Get involved

Math Club

The Math Club brings students interested in math and related subjects together to participate in community activities and support events held by the department. The club meets bi-weekly on Tuesdays at 7:30 pm in Shineman 373.

Honors program

The mathematics honors program gives exceptional students, capable of understanding material of a more advanced nature than that presented in standard mathematical courses and having the inclination to understand this more advanced material, an opportunity to do so within the general framework of their curriculum.
Students completing their sophomore year with a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.4 mathematics GPA may apply for admission into the program


Louis R. DeRitter Award

Each year the mathematics faculty select outstanding junior and/or senior math students to receive this award. This award is given in memory of Professor DeRitter, a longtime member of the Oswego Mathematics Department. Award winners are chosen for their performance in upper division math courses.

2016- Dylan Gates (junior),  Tyler Pelle (senior)
2015- Amy Hannahan, Tyler Pelle
2014- Erica Wilson (junior), Nicholas Powers (senior)
2013- Ben Valentino, Rebecca Tango (senior), Laura Murtha (junior)
2012- Richard DiSalvo, Ben Valentino
2011- Daniel Ruley, Matthew Sartwell 

Emmet Stopher Calculus Award

The Emmet Stopher Calculus Award is awarded to the outstanding freshman calculus student. This honor is appropriately named as Dr. Stopher received a similar award as a college freshman. Professor Stopher was appointed in 1957, served as chairman of the Mathematics Department from 1958 to 1967 and retired as Professor Emeritus in 1979.

2016- Jonathan Backus, Ian Evans
2015- Vincent DeBiase, Dylan Gates
2014- Tyler Pelle
2013- Erika Wilson
2012- Zach Schrecengost
2011- Jordana O'Brien

John Walcott Award

The John Walcott Award is given by the Mathematics Department to elementary and secondary education majors with a concentration in mathematics. It recognizes consistent excellent performance in the mathematics courses required for the concentration. The award is named for John Walcott, who was a member of the department for many years.

2016- Joanna McKinney
2014- David Randall, Laura Murtha
2013- Jackie Maguire, Kailea Nelson
2012- Jordana O'Brien
2011- Ashley Foster, Katherine Grzesik and Julie McCormick

The Mathematics Honors Award

The Mathematics Honors Award is received by students completing the mathematics honors program. The honors program gives exceptional students the opportunity to study course material in greater depth. To be selected for the program, applicants must have completed their sophomore year with a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.4 mathematics GPA. Interested students should see their advisor.