Students walking in front of Shineman Center
Visit Us

The best way to experience our friendly, learner-centered community is to visit.

Students sitting next to Lake Ontario
Intro video

One video, 60 seconds, countless reasons to consider SUNY Oswego.

Three students walk across campus
Get involved

Explore our nearly 200 clubs and organizations that can forge connections and create opportunities.

Graduates pose during Reunion
Get ready for reunion

Join us for the biggest alumni party of the year, June 8 to 11!

Nighttime view of Sheldon Hall clocktower
Oswego rising

Lakeshore college continues climb in ratings, reviews.

You are here

Johnson Hall, as it appeared shortly after opening

Then: Welcoming its first residents in 1958, Johnson Hall was the second residence hall constructed on the Oswego campus (after Lonis-Mackin-Moreland) and the first to dot the lakeside. Named for Harold B. Johnson, editor-president of theWatertown Daily Times and chair of the college's Board of Visitors, it started as a residence for 200 women -- and remained a women-only hall until the 1990s. Shown in the 1962 Ontarian yearbook, Johnson Hall sported what became for decades the uniform look for the residence halls along the lake, joined in subsequent years by Riggs, Scales and Waterbury halls. (Photo from 1962 Ontarian)

Johnson Hall, as it now looks

Now: Johnson Hall underwent a massive transformation in the early 21st century that updated its look, upgraded its facilities and provided a new purpose as the home of the college's First Year Residential Experience. A modern facade and entrance, inviting fireplace lounge and new gabled roofing provided Johnson an appearance that set it apart when it reopened in 2002. Here students (from left) Emma Roseval, Ian Pauchard, Arthur Wanzer, Tim Van Hine and Nick Montesano enjoy a warm fall day earlier this week. (Photo by Jim Russell)