A unique, hands-on theatre experience where students learn by doing.

Dedicated  study tracks - Acting/Directing, Design/Technical Theatre, Dramaturgy, and Music Theatre - allow students to focus on their specific area of interest, with the opportunity to branch out and gain valuable experience across a range of theatrical areas. At SUNY Oswego Theatre, we place our students at the center of the creative experience. With an active student body, a first-rate group of faculty and professional staff, and a world-class technology range, SUNY Oswego offers opportunities to contribute throughout your degree program. As a member of the School of Communication, Media and the Arts (SCMA), SUNY Oswego Theatre also encourages inter-disciplinary collaboration and interaction. Students have the opportunity to perform in one of our many on-campus locations, which includes black box studio spaces and the newly renovated Waterman Theatre, a 426-seat proscenium stage. Programming includes the classical canon, modern American works, musical theatre, and new plays, while each season is highlighted by the unique Blackfriars Student Honors Production, an entirely student-driven mainstage performance mentored by department professionals.



Theatre Department

119 Tyler Hall
Jennifer Knapp, Interim Chair

Sally Van Buren, Secretary


Phone: 315.312.2147
Email: sally.vanburen@oswego.edu

Institutional Affiliations