Chancellor's Awards

Additional Navigation

The Office of the Chancellor of the State University of New York annually requests nominations from campuses of outstanding faculty and staff in a number of categories.  Each SUNY campus is charged with organizing a process for identifying and recognizing outstanding work by its academic personnel.  A call goes out to the entire SUNY Oswego community during the Fall semester to send nominations forward.  These are reviewed by a committee of faculty and students which then makes a recommendation to the SUNY Oswego president who then forwards her recommendation to the Chancellor.

SUNY Oswego is authorized to submit up to four nominations for the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching and one nomination each for the Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Librarianship, Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, and Excellence in Faculty Service.

Nominations are requested in the following categories*:

  • Distinguished Professorship
  • Distinguished Teaching Professorship
  • Distinguished Service Professorship
  • Distinguished Librarian
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Librarianship
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching
  • Chancellor's Award for Shared Governance (campus may self-nominate)

To download guidelines for these faculty recognition opportunities, please visit this SUNY website.

The Chancellor's Awards review committee is elected by faculty, staff and students pursuant to a procedure established by the Faculty Assembly in conjunction with SUNY. You are invited to nominate individuals to serve on this important committee. For additional information about the committee selection process, see this link.

The composition of the selection committee is as follows:

  • One voting faculty member (with a minimum of ten years of service at Oswego) each from the School of Business, School of Education, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, Media and the Arts
  • One voting faculty member with distinguished rank
  • One at-large voting faculty member
  • Two undergraduate students 
  • One graduate student
  • One professional staff member
  • Chair of Faculty Assembly (or designee)
  • One administrative liaison designated by the President (ex-officio committee member). 

If there are nominations for the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Librarianship, the selection committee will be augmented by two librarians with voting faculty status and continuing appointment.  The augmented selection committee members shall be responsible for the nominations for the librarianship award only.  Faculty appointments to the selection committee are for staggered three-year terms.  Distinguished rank faculty representative is a two-year term.

This year nominations are requested for the following vacancies:

  • Undergraduate Students (2)
  • Graduate Student (1)
  • Librarians (2)
  • Faculty, School of Business (1)
  • Voting Faculty, Distinguished rank (1)

Documents and guidelines relating to the Chancellor's Awards are available for download here.

Please download the PDF icon Chancellor's Awards Selection Committee nomination ballot, indicate your nomination(s), and return the form to to Provost's Office, 702 Culkin Hall, or to Michael Ameigh.

The nominator is responsible for submitting all credentials and supporting materials to the Provost's Office, 702 Culkin Hall.  See Tips for Effective Chancellor Award and Distinguished Rank Applications.

* Not listed here are the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Professional Service, Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Classified Service, and Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence. These award nominations and reviews are administered through the Office of Student Affairs, 711 Culkin Hall.

For additional assistance, contact the Office of the Provost.