New Student Orientation

We are glad you have decided on SUNY Oswego as the next step in your education. To ease your transition, we host orientation programs for you and your family members to learn more about the resources, faculty, staff, students, and academics at SUNY Oswego.

We offer a well as a a specialized in-person New Student Orientation to learn about SUNY Oswego through the lens of your previous college experience. 

You will:

  • Be pre-registered for classes
  • Meet with an advisor to review classes, and make any changes to your schedule
  • Finalize financial aidReceive your new student ID card
  • Pre-arrange the purchase of your textbooks and complete your membership to the Fitness Center (optional)
  • Received your student ID card

If you have any questions regarding Orientation, please contact us at 315.312.5522 or by email at orient@oswego.edu

Below are our Fall 2019 Orientation dates:

Program Dates:

First Year Programs

Thursday, June 27 – Friday, June 28
Monday, July 1 – Tuesday, July 2
Sunday, July 7 – Monday, July 8
Wednesday, July 10 – Thursday, July 11
Sunday, July 14 – Monday, July 15 
Thursday, July 18 – Friday, July 19
Tuesday, July 23 – Wednesday, July 24

Transfer Programs

Monday, June 24
Monday, July 22
Friday, August 9

The New Student Orientation program is required of all new, incoming transfer students. 

Students who do not attend an Orientation program and matriculate for the semester will be assessed the Orientation fee. All students who attend an Orientation program and withdraw from the College after their Orientation program will be responsible for the Orientation fee; guests of these students will also remain responsible for the guest Orientation fee. 

All new students are required to complete Online Orientation.

What is Online Orientation?

Preparing you for a successful transition to SUNY Oswego is important to us. Our goal is to provide you with the opportunity to become familiar with the many resources we have that support students on our campus.

New Student Orientation has partnered with departments at SUNY Oswego to bring you Online Orientation: a supplemental-Orientation program that is required for all new, incoming students.

Online Orientation program that you can find on your Blackboad homepage. Information on how to access and complete the Online Orientation can be found here.

Online Orientation is due by August 25, 2019 at 11:59 pm. 

New Student Orientation Reviews 

"Overall, orientation was successful.  It provided the necessary and essential information." - Student, Summer 2017

"I would love to say that your staff did a great job!  Very friendly!" - Student, Summer 2017

"The Laker Leaders were very helpful and I would love to become a Laker Leader myself!" - Student, Summer 2017

"I was happy that the dining hall had gluten free food for me as I am on a resticted diet." - Student, Summer 2017

"I am so glad that I attended Orientation!  The staff answered a lot of my questions and they made me feel more comfortable and less stressed." - Student, Summer 2017