First Year Student Orientation

What is First Year Student Orientation?

First Year Student Orientation is a two-day, overnight program for all incoming first time students. Orientation pairs you with a returning student mentor - a Laker Leader - who will guide you through the process and become a resource to you as you begin classes in the fall. 

At Orientation you will have the opportunity to:

  • Meet with academic representatives and a faculty advisor
    Representatives and a faculty advisor will help answer questions about your major and transfer credits as well as help you understand your course schedule.
  • Class schedule
    You will leave Orientation knowing your class schedule for the upcoming semester.
  • Find out about student services
    Discover the resources, services and programs that are available to assist you along your journey at Oswego.
  • Meet your Laker Leader
    Your Laker Leader will help guide you through Orientation.
  • Spend time with other new students
    Meet other new students and enjoy the company of your future classmates and friends.

When can I attend a First Year Orientation program?

All first year students may attend any one of the following Orientation programs:

  • Thursday, June 28 - Friday, June 29 
  • Monday, July 2 - Tuesday, July 3
  • Sunday, July 8 - Monday, July 9 
  • Wednesday, July 11 - Thursday, July 12 
  • Sunday, July 15 - Monday, July 16 
  • Thursday, July 19 - Friday, July 20 
  • Wednesday, July 25 - Thursday, July 26 

The First Year Student Orientation program is required of all new, incoming first time students. 

Students who do not attend an Orientation program and matriculate for the semester will be assessed the Orientation fee.