'New Voices' competition at SUNY Oswego celebrates 20 years

For the 20th consecutive year, SUNY Oswego will present dramatic readings of the winning 10-minute plays in the New Voices competition. Curtain time is 7:30 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, March 9 and 10, in Tyler Hall’s lab theatre.

New Voices writers and directorsCoordinated by Brad Korbesmeyer, interim associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and a faculty member in English and creative writing, and Mark Cole, professor of theatre, the event is free and open to public. Those without campus parking stickers can pay $1 to park; see www.oswego.edu/administration/parking for details.

Winning writers (with their play’s name in parentheses) and student directors for this year’s competition are, from left, Tyler Eldred, Chelsea Taylor Mahoney (“Hank and Libby”), Nick Goodman, Rebecca Anne McCarthy, Fred Maxon (“Stitch and Bitch”), Ben Mikelberg (“Barstools”), Dylan Fredette (“Held Up”), Robin Rubeo-Laughter and Michael McCabe (“Flynn’s Epilogue”). Missing from the photo is James Domachowske (“The Snap”).

- 30 -

(Posted: Mar 04, 2013)

Tags: theatre, theater, new voices, english and creative writing