Eight inducted into Hall of Fame

Professional golfer Wayne LeviEight former Oswego State athletes were honored at the fifth annual Oswego Athletic Alumni Association Hall of Fame Dinner.

The event—open to current and former athetles, members of the campus community and the public—took place on Saturday, Nov. 5, in The Forum in Hewitt Union.

This year’s honorees, followed by their sport in parentheses, included: Wendy Bolton of the class of 1975 (field hockey, basketball, softball and volleyball); Tony Conigliaro of the class of 1964 (basketball); Joanne Forbes-Murphy, a 1977 graduate (basketball, softball and volleyball); Mike Kohl, a 1996 graduate (wrestling); Wayne Levi (golf); Kurt Vander Bogart of the class of 1976 (swimming); and Glendon Widrick, a 1974 graduate (baseball).

Honored posthumously was Arwin Hamm, who graduated from Oswego in 1922. He was recognized for his achievements in baseball.

“This year’s honorees represent some of the best athletes in Oswego State’s long athletic history,” said Betsy Oberst, executive director of the Oswego Alumni Association. “We are honored to add their names to the list of inductees.”

The Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2001 by the Oswego Alumni Association to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to Oswego State athletics. Its purpose is to perpetuate the memory of those who have brought honor, distinction and excellence to Oswego’s campus through athletics.

Nominations for alumni athletes or former coaches (living or deceased) for future consideration to the Hall of Fame are now being taken through an online form at http://oswegoalumni.oswego.edu/halloffame/. Nominators are responsible for supplying information on their nominee for consideration by the committee. Deadline for nominations for consideration for 2006 induction is Jan. 1.

- END -

PHOTO CAPTION: Golfing ace—Pro golfer Wayne Levi, Oswego State golf MVP in 1971 and 1972, went on to a successful career, with 13 PGA Tour wins and two Champion Tour wins. He was 1990 PGA Tour player of the year. 

(Posted: Nov 07, 2005)