Stamm receives Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service

imageDr. Alfred Stamm, professor of meteorology and chair of the earth sciences department at SUNY Oswego, has received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. He is the first Oswego faculty member to win this award, which SUNY established in 2004.

In the community, Stamm has been treasurer of the Central New York chapter of the American Meteorological Society for 11 years and active with environmental organizations and projects. He currently serves on the Newman Center renovation committee. He was formerly on the board and treasurer of Parents of Special Children.

On campus, Stamm has been long-term chair of such key campus bodies as the Scholarly and Creative Activities Committee, a faculty group that oversees campus research and other scholarship, and the Priorities and Planning Council, a faculty group that advises on the college budget.

“Professor Stamm has accepted responsibility over a long period for leading the faculty toward fulfillment of some of the most important initiatives this campus has undertaken in the last quarter century,” wrote Dr. Nola Heidlebaugh, professor of communication studies, in supporting the nomination by Dr. David Thomas, professor of geology.

As chair of SCAC for 18 years, Stamm was instrumental in the creation of the campus Faculty Enhancement Grants, the President’s and Provost’s Awards for Scholarly and Creative Activity, and student research awards, according to Dr. Jack Narayan, former dean of graduate studies and research.

As chair of the Priorities and Planning Council for the past 10 years and its predecessor for five years, “Dr. Stamm has been firm yet collegial in . . . sometimes difficult budget planning processes, and has contributed significantly to consensus solutions to several budget crises,” Dean of Arts and Sciences Sara Varhus wrote.

He maintains involvement in freshman Orientation and an active research and grant-writing program that has produced environmental monitoring facilities locally and professional development programs for area schoolteachers. He received three campus awards for research.

Among notable committees he has worked on have been the college’s Strategic Planning Advisory Board and Mission Review Steering Committee, the Provost’s Long-Range Planning Committee, Faculty Assembly Executive Board, the Bridging Sciences and Humanities Committee, Teacher Education Program Advisory Board, Science Planning Steering Committee and hiring committees for deans and a vice president.

“His presence on a committee or his involvement in a faculty project has proven to be an indicator of a future outcome that would be sound, based on facts and valuable to all concerned,” wrote Dean of Business Lanny Karns.

Stamm also chaired the Rice Creek Advisory Board. “The planning documents completed (under his chairmanship) . . . provided the basic guidelines and goals for our continuing efforts to develop programs and facilities,” wrote Andrew Nelson, director of Rice Creek Field Station. “He puts in long hours and uses those hours as efficiently and effectively as anyone I know.”

In his department, Stamm founded and coordinates the meteorology honors program and has chaired and served on many committees.

For more information on Oswego professors who earned awards this spring, visit the Faculty Achievers page.

- END -

(Posted: May 04, 2005)