Community leadership award nominees sought

Leadership Oswego County is looking for nominations for its 2005 Community Leadership Recognition Award. Nominations must be received by April 15. The award winner will be recognized at the Leadership Oswego County adult class of 2005 graduation dinner on Friday, June 10.

A nominee must be a current Oswego County resident who is devoted to the community, has participated in civic organizations by taking leadership roles, has shown a demonstrated impact on the growth of the community and has displayed real vision and motivated others to realize the vision, award organizers said.

Past recipients of the award include Charles Krupke in 2004, John Fitzgibbons in 2003, Peg McKinstry in 2002, Rosemary Nesbitt in 2001, Kathleen Fenlon in 2000, Dee Heckethorn in 1999, Verner Drohan in 1998, Dan Capella in 1997, Bruce Phelps in 1996, Mary Dowd in 1995, Betty Vaught in 1994 and Mike Pollock in 1994.

Leadership Oswego County is a community development program of SUNY Oswego’s Center for Business and Community Development. It offers a community trusteeship curriculum that aims to assist adult and youth class members in developing personal, team and community leadership skills. Class members meet one day a month from October to May.

For more information on nominating someone for the award or on Leadership Oswego County, call 312-3492 or e-mail

- END -

(Posted: Mar 30, 2005)