Seven SUNY Oswego students earn Chancellor's Awards

Greg FeidenSeven SUNY Oswego students have earned the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence, the highest student recognition through the State University system.

The honorees, recognized for high grade-point average and contributions to the campus and community, will receive the awards from SUNY Interim Chancellor John B. Clark at an April 7 ceremony in Albany. Students graduating between June 2007 and May 2008 were eligible.

Oswego award winners include Gregory Feiden, a physics major and astronomy minor from Hillsborough, N.H.; Lacey Kimpland, a childhood education graduate with a minor in athletic coaching from Fulton; Heather Lynch, a master’s in literacy education graduate from Mexico; David McLaughlin, a double major in accounting and economics from Pittsford; Ashley Rath, a graphic design graduate with a minor in international business from Hamlin; Meagan Smith, a graduate in journalism and music from Oswego; and Joseph Turk, a wellness management major with minors in athletic coaching and health science from Pennellville.

Feiden won a summer placement in a National Science Foundation-funded program for undergraduate research and will receive Oswego’s Outstanding Physics Major Award at this spring’s Honors Convocation. He presented posters on his research at the American Astronomical Society meeting in Seattle and the Rochester Symposium of Undergraduate Research. He is a member of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society.

Feiden took an active role in resurrecting the Oswego men’s club hockey team in 2006, and he served as president as the team won the Northeast Collegiate Hockey League championship this season. A starting goalie, he was invited to take part in the American Collegiate Hockey Association All-Star Game.

Kimpland was a two-year captain for the Laker women’s hoops team and part of a turnaround class that earned the program its first two bids to the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament. Kimpland was named to the SUNY Athletic Conference All-Star Team in 2006 and was selected to play in the 2007 SUNYAC Senior All-Star Game.

She attended the NCAA National Student-Athlete Leadership Council in 2005, which led to her bringing Mark Sterner to campus in 2006 to discuss his deadly experience with drinking and driving. Her athletic, academic and volunteer endeavors earned her the Oswego Alumni Association’s Outstanding Senior Award.

Lynch served as president of the Epsilon Omega chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society in education. Under her leadership, Oswego’s chapter was named a “Chapter 2 Watch” by the international organization because of service events for literacy, local families in need, senior citizens and soldiers in war zones.

She was a member of Tau Sigma, the transfer student honor society; the National Society of Collegiate Scholars; and the women’s honor society Vega. Lynch’s honors also include earning Oswego’s Lucy Wing Scholarship and Dorothy and Art Eichinger Award.

McLaughlin earned Oswego’s Richard Hyse Outstanding Achievement Award and the History Freshman Achievement Award. He is vice president of the all-discipline academic honor society Phi Kappa Phi, and a member of the Omicron Delta Epsilon economics honor society and Beta Alpha Psi accounting and finance honor society.

He was cited for outstanding service in the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program, preparing free tax returns for community members, and helped teach in the community partnership Smart Money program.

Rath earned three competitive grants—a Bridging Scholarship, a Freeman-Asia Scholarship and a Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarship—to spend a year studying and documenting life in Japan. Her film “Unbounded: What It’s Like to Study Abroad,” chronicling her time at the University of Tsukuba and elsewhere, premiered last fall.

She was vice president of Vega, the women’s honor society, rowed on the crew team and exhibited artwork. Rath earned the Edward Austin Sheldon Award from the Oswego Alumni Association and was named the Sheldon Leader of the Year in both her freshman and sophomore years. In art, she received Oswego’s Jessie and Jay Rudolph Award and Grant Arnold Award.

Smith was president of SUNY Oswego’s Habitat for Humanity group, was student representative on the board for the Oswego County chapter and made spring and winter break trips to build homes. She earned the SUNY Oswego History Department Award for Excellence and was named to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.”

She coordinated a service-learning project where volunteer student musicians performed in local nursing homes. She joined the Oswego Chamber Singers as one of only three freshmen selected at the time and was an accompanist for the Oswego Center United Methodist Church.

Turk, a co-captain of the Laker swimming and diving team, is a member of the SUNY Athletic Conference champion and school record-holding 800 freestyle relay team. He was part of a team that placed third the 400 medley relay and earned top-eight finishes in the 200 and 400 individual medleys and 200 breaststroke at the SUNYAC championship meet.

He earned the David A. Campbell Memorial Fund Award, which goes to an outstanding student in the wellness management program. Turk also finds time to serve as a volunteer instructor for the Laker Swim Club and as an assistant scoutmaster for the Boy Scouts of America.

Three of the recipients—Feiden, McLaughlin and Smith—are Presidential Scholars, benefiting from the program to bring academically talented and well-rounded students to campus.

- END -

PHOTO CAPTION: Chancellor’s choices—Seven SUNY Oswego students, including senior physics major Gregory Feiden, have been named winners of the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence. Feiden is shown using a muon detector/collector and a signal processor in a Snygg Hall physics lab.

(Posted: Mar 19, 2008)

Tags: none