Seven Oswego students earn Chancellor's Awards

sarah haig drawsSUNY Chancellor John Ryan will honor seven SUNY Oswego students with the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence at a ceremony Wednesday, April 18, in Albany.

The awards go to students who earn high grade-point averages and make a significant contribution to their campus or local community.

Oswego’s recipients are Shelly Dann of Central Square, a double major in psychology and public justice; Sarah Haig of Saranac Lake, a graduate student in graphic design; Samantha Mason of Portland, Ore., who graduated summa cum laude in December with a major in theatre and a minor in medieval and Renaissance studies; Sarah Scherer of Kingston, a double major in secondary education and English; LeAnne St. Gelais of Pulaski, a senior majoring in psychology; Dan Tascarella of Oswego, who will graduate in accounting with both bachelor’s and master’s of business administration degrees; and Zachary Winnie of Fly Creek, a senior graphic design major with a minor in information science.

Several of the seven share honors in common. Mason, Scherer, St. Gelais, Tascarella and Winnie were selected as Presidential Scholars, receiving the top merit scholarships that SUNY Oswego offers. Mason, Scherer, St. Gelais and Tascarella participated in the college’s Honors Program. And Dann, Mason, Scherer, Tascarella and Winnie are members of the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society.

Dann excelled on the women’s swimming team, holding Oswego and SUNY Athletic Conference records as a member of the 400 free relay team. She helped guide her team to three consecutive SUNYAC team championships while earning three honorable mention Academic All-American Awards. She is a peer adviser in the public justice program and a member of the women’s honor society Vega. She volunteered with the Oswego Laker Swim Club for local children.

Haig has exhibited her artwork at the State University Plaza in Albany, Tyler Art Gallery on campus and Cherrywood Studio in Oswego and in several Oswego Art Association juried exhibitions. She has been vice president of Break Thru Designs. She received a campus grant to support her master’s project, which is on display in Tyler and will be the topic of her talk April 18 at Quest, the college’s symposium of scholarly and creative activity. She received the art department’s Aulus Saunders Award.

Mason was nominated three times for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship through the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival for her lead performances in campus productions of “Measure for Measure,” “Infinity’s House” and “Antigone.” She was president of the Alpha Psi Omega theatre honors society. She received Oswego’s Patti McGill Peterson Honors Program Scholarship and Freshman Achievement Award in History. While studying abroad, she was elected student council president at the Center for Academic Programs Abroad, London chapter.

Scherer was elected as one of two student representatives to the Northeast National Collegiate Honors Council conference last spring. On campus, she served as co-leader of NYPIRG’s Hunger and Homeless Project and as treasurer of the leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa, and she volunteered with Habitat for Humanity. She completed her student teaching in England. She gave a presentation at Quest last year on urban education, based on her teaching internship in New York City.

On campus, St. Gelais is president of Omicron Delta Kappa, treasurer of the psychology honor society Psi Chi and president of the Red Cross Club, and she received a Student Involvement Award. She was a resident mentor in Johnson Hall and worked as a resident assistant in Lonis Hall. She received a campus grant for her project “What Motivates College Students to Become Leaders?” which she is to present April 18 at Quest.

Tascarella was 2006-07 president of the Student Association and SA’s chief financial officer in 2005-06. He is a member of the SUNY Oswego College Council. He serves on Auxiliary Services’ board of directors. On the School of Business Student Advisory Council, he helped organize a symposium that brought local business leaders to campus to meet with students. He was a Sheldon Leader and collected several awards through his fraternity, Zeta Beta Tau. In the community, he was a member of the Campus-City Relations Committee and was named one of Oswego County’s 40 Under 40.

Winnie was one of nine national semi-finalists in the Hollywood Reporter Key Arts Movie Competition to create an outstanding film trailer. He is co-director of Arts Alive, a student club. He took on several Web design projects on campus and developed Web sites for community organizations. His campus honors include the Grant Arnold Award, SA Juried Art Exhibition Purchase Award, and Jessie and Jay Rudolph Award. He received a Clark Foundation Scholarship from the private foundation in Cooperstown.

- END -

PHOTO CAPTION: Among the best—Master’s art student Sarah Haig is one of seven Oswego students who received Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence this year. She is shown working on a multimedia piece for her thesis exhibition, inspired by the words of survivors of abuse. Her installation can be seen April 9 to 25 in Tyler Art Gallery.

(Posted: Apr 05, 2007)