Leadership Oswego County's Class of 2010 to graduate June 3

SUNY Oswego’s Leadership Oswego County program will graduate 26 members of the Class of 2010 on June 3.

Leadership Oswego County’s 19th graduation also will honor L. Michael Treadwell, executive director of Operation Oswego County, with a Community Leadership award, and Nick Canale Jr. of Canale’s Restaurant, a 1998 Leadership Oswego County Class alumnus, with the Distinguished Alumni honor.

Ceremonies for the program, an initiative of the college’s Office of Business and Community Relations, will take place at 6 p.m. Thursday, June 3, in Hewitt Union ballroom at SUNY Oswego.

Recruitment has started for Leadership Oswego County’s Class of 2011, said Director Jeffrey Grimshaw. The program annually teaches community trusteeship, leadership skills, current issues, visioning and networking to a diverse group of county residents. The intensive nine-month course of study prepares this select group to become the community leaders of the future.

Grimshaw, who is also assistant director of the college’s Office of Business and Community Relations, said this year’s graduating class completed its project, an Oswego County-themed history game to be used in area schools. The game is a memorial to Rosemary Nesbitt, the late local historian and emeritus professor of theatre at SUNY Oswego.

Sponsors of the Leadership Oswego County 2010 class project are Entergy Nuclear, All Seasons Inn, Oswego County Federal Credit Union, Eastern Shore Associates, Cornell Cooperative Extension of Oswego County, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, BPO Elks #271 of Oswego, Heritage Foundation and Oswego County Historical Society.

For more information or to attend the graduation ceremonies, call OBCR at 312-3492.

- 30 -

(Posted: May 18, 2010)