Civil rights leader's legacy celebrated at SUNY Oswego

image The 16th annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration at SUNY Oswego recognized the legacy of the civil rights leader and the contributions of some members of the campus community.

The Sigma Omicron Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha presented its Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards to three members of the SUNY Oswego college community: sophomore English major Harmony Brush; Jean Grant, coordinator of clinical services for Walker Health Center; and John Kares Smith, professor of communication studies. Shown at the ceremony in Bell Auditorium are, from left, Grant, Smith, Brush, event coordinator Tony Henderson, Fred Crisafulli representing the City of Oswego, guest speaker and historian Rosemary Nesbitt, and the Rev. Richard Rice.

(Posted: Feb 09, 2005)