Empire Scholarships recognize student achievement

Empire State Diversity Honors Scholars saluted.The college recently celebrated SUNY Oswego students who won Empire State Diversity Honors Scholarships in recognition of their promise for high academic achievement.

The students recently gathered to receive congratulations from SUNY Oswego Provost Susan Coultrap-McQuin (second from left) and Executive Assistant to the President Howard Gordon (fourth from right). They include Shannon Brown, a senior majoring in public justice and Spanish; Chenshen Wang, a sophomore majoring in anthropology; Jenna Burgess, a junior majoring in zoology; Mindy Hoftender, a junior majoring in psychology and cognitive science; Alissa Vega, a senior majoring in linguistics; Dana Reid, a senior majoring in teaching English to speakers of other languages; and Julio Xavier Mallonga, a junior majoring in biology. Scholarship recipients missing from the photo are Martin Devita and Eric Ruiz.

- END -

(Posted: May 18, 2009)