SUNY Oswego to enshrine Coach Peterson, four top athletes

Longtime SUNY Oswego soccer coach and Oswego resident Kenneth Peterson will join four other inductees of the Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame at a 12:30 p.m. ceremony Saturday, Nov. 12, in Hewitt Union ballroom on campus. Reservation deadline is Nov. 4.

imageThe Oswego Alumni Association will host the reception and luncheon for the new inductees. The college also will recognize the honorees that evening at a men’s ice hockey game versus Morrisville, which starts at 7 p.m. at the Campus Center arena.

The longest-tenured coach in Oswego history—37 years, through 2004—Peterson (pictured) also taught in the athletics and health promotion and wellness departments from 1968 to 2010.  He retired last year as an associate professor.

During his time as men’s soccer coach, Peterson received SUNY Athletic Conference Coach of the Year honors in 1987, 1988 and 1993. He has coached 105 All-SUNYAC players, 25 All-New York state players, and four of his players received SUNYAC Player of the Year awards.

Peterson also coached varsity women’s soccer from 1997 to 2004, during which he coached 18 All-SUNYAC players, one Player of the Year and one first-year Player of the Year.

He also coached track at Oswego from 1968 to 1980. Peterson started the men’s indoor track program in 1971, coaching eight All-Americans and one national champion.

Fellow inductees

Also part of the 2011 Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame inductions is former lacrosse player Ken Walker, a 1980 SUNY Oswego graduate. Walker is the all-time scoring leader with 201 points and was among the top 10 scorers in the nation in 1979 and 1980. The four-year player ranked first in career goals with 143 until 2004.

Charles Stanek, a 1965 graduate of SUNY Oswego, also will be inducted, for his achievements in men’s basketball, baseball and soccer. Stanek won Athlete of the Year in 1964 and Athlete of the Year runner-up in 1963. Co-captain of both the men’s soccer and baseball teams in 1964 and co-captain of varsity men’s soccer in 1963, Stanek also received the Block “O” Award in 1964. He was a member of two SUNYAC championship basketball teams, 1961-62 and 1963-64, and two SUNYAC championship baseball teams, 1962 and 1963.

Harold Furrer, a 1965 Oswego graduate, will be honored for his achievements in wrestling. The two-time captain qualified for the NCAA tournament in 1964 and 1965.  He was also SUNY champion in the 130-pound weight class from 1963 to 1965.

Diane Gilligan, a 1985 graduate of SUNY Oswego, also will be inducted. Gilligan was the all-time leading scorer in women’s field hockey with 162 points on 67 goals and 28 assists. She produced the top three goal-scoring seasons in the program’s history, 1982-84, and played women’s ice hockey for two years.

The cost to attend the Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame reception is $25 per person. Donors are encouraged to sponsor student athletes to attend the luncheon. Registration is required by Nov. 4 at or by calling 315-312-2258.

- 30 -

(Posted: Oct 27, 2011)