Five inducted into Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame

Hall inducteesFour Oswego alumni athletes and a former Laker coach and athletic director were inducted into the Oswego Athletic Association Hall of Fame in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the program’s success.

Shirleen Dubuque ‘85, Joseph Farmer ‘60, Robert Heneka ‘67, Laurie Irving Murphy ‘83 and John Spring were inducted at a luncheon ceremony in Sheldon Hall Oct. 27. They were also recognized to ovations at the Oct. 26 men’s ice hockey game against Elmira College and .

Dubuque was a standout tri-athlete, receiving many awards for her undergraduate performances in basketball, field hockey and softball. As a field hockey goalie, she made the most saves in a game (32) in 1981 and made All-State selection in 1982. Dubuque played shortstop for the Lakers during the time when the softball team was a New York State Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (NYSAIAW) qualifier (1982), the NYSAIAW champion (1984) and the NYSAIAW runner-up (1985). She was also a member of the 1984 and 1985 softball All-State Championship teams.

Farmer was recognized for his contributions to both the wrestling and the track and field teams during his four years at Oswego. Farmer held the records for the shot put and discus and was named the Wilkes Regional wrestling champion in 1959. In 1960, Farmer participated in the NCAA wrestling championship and finished his highly successful undergraduate wrestling career with a record of 48 wins and one loss.

Heneka was a three-time State University All-Conference catcher—freshmen were not allowed to play on the varsity teams in those day—and earned All-American recognition in 1966 with a record 33 hits in a season. That same season, he was 16th in the nation with an overall batting average of .408, led the State University Athletic Conference with a .445 average in league play and had a record 12-game hitting streak. As team captain, Heneka brought the team to the NCAA regional play-offs in Yankee Stadium where the team won runner-up status in the four-team tournament.

Laurie Irving Murphy ‘83 joined the hall for her outstanding achievements on the Laker swimming and diving team. The Rookie MVP in 1980 won first place on the three-meter board and second on the one-meter board at the 1980 state championships and placed 16th at Nationals on the three-meter board. She was a four-time national qualifier and competitor, earning second place on the one- and three-meter boards in the 1981 state championship, 13th on the three-meter board at the National Championship. In 1983, she placed second on the three-meter board at states.

Emeritus Athletic Director, Professor and Coach John Spring began teaching at Oswego State in 1967 as an associate professor and took over the athletic director position in 1977. In that role, Spring managed the 10 varsity athletic programs for men, coordinated the 1983 SUNYAC wrestling championships and served on numerous national and regional athletic committees. Spring served as head coach for the varsity swim team from 1967 to 1974 and again from 1980 to 1987. In 1972-73 and 1976 to 182, he was head coach of the varsity lacrosse team, and he also coached men’s varsity tennis in 1970.

- END -

PHOTO CAPTION: Entering the hall—2007 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are, seated, from left, Laurie Irving Murphy ‘83, swimming and diving; Shirleen Dubuque ‘85, women’s basketball, field hockey and softball; and standing, from left, John Spring, emeritus athletic director, professor, coach men’s lacrosse, swimming and tennis; Joe Farmer ‘60, track and field, and wrestling; and Bob Heneka ‘67, baseball.

(Posted: Nov 02, 2007)