Eight to be inducted into Athletic Hall of Fame

Professional golfer Wayne LeviEight former Oswego State athletes will be honored at the fifth annual Oswego Athletic Alumni Association Hall of Fame Dinner.  

The event will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 5, in The Forum in Hewitt Union. The ceremony will be open to the public.

This year’s honorees, followed by their sport in parentheses, include: Wendy Bolton of the class of 1975 (field hockey, basketball, softball and volleyball); Tony Conigliaro of the class of 1964 (basketball); Joanne Forbes-Murphy, a 1977 graduate (basketball, softball and volleyball); Mike Kohl, a 1996 graduate (wrestling); Wayne Levi (golf); Kurt Vander Bogart of the class of 1976 (swimming); and Glendon Widrick, a 1974 graduate (baseball).

Honored posthumously will be Arwin Hamm, who graduated from Oswego in 1922. He will be recognized for his achievements in baseball.

“This year’s honorees represent some of the best athletes in Oswego State’s long athletic history,” said Betsy Oberst, executive director of the Oswego Alumni Association. “We are honored to add their names to the list of inductees.”

The Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2001 by the Oswego Alumni Association to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to Oswego State athletics. Its purpose is to perpetuate the memory of those who have brought honor, distinction and excellence to Oswego’s campus through athletics.

The cost of the dinner is $30 per person, and reservations are required. The reservation deadline is Friday, Oct. 28.

The Oswego Alumni Association is encouraging student-athletes to attend the Hall of Fame dinner to build connections with alumni. In order to accomplish this, the group asks for help in sponsoring student athletes to attend the dinner. A $15 donation will sponsor a student’s dinner.

To make a reservation or sponsor a student, call 312-2258 or register online at http://oswegoalumni.oswego.edu/halloffame/.

Nominations for alumni athletes or former coaches (living or deceased) for future consideration to the Hall of Fame are now being taken through the online form. Nominators are responsible for supplying information on their nominee for consideration by the committee. Deadline for nominations for consideration for 2006 induction is Jan. 1.

- END -

PHOTO CAPTION: Golfing ace—Pro golfer Wayne Levi, Oswego State golf MVP in 1971 and 1972, went on to a successful career, with 13 PGA Tour wins and two Champion Tour wins. He was 1990 PGA Tour player of the year.

(Posted: Oct 13, 2005)