5 Oswego students earn Chancellor's Awards for Excellence

Five SUNY Oswego students earned Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence, the highest such honor in the SUNY system.

They are MBA/bachelor’s in accounting majors Aleithea Abbott and Christopher Hill, chemistry major Andrew Camelio, biochemistry major Paul MacMahon and broadcasting major Cathleen Richards.

Abbott has served as president of Beta Alpha Psi, the honorary society for accounting and finance students, for which she has been involved in community service including the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program, where she is site co-coordinator. The Kingston resident has been active in several campus theatre productions and the Oswego Festival Chorus as well.

She received the Patti McGill Peterson Award for Achievement from the college’s Honors Program and the New York State Society of CPAs’ Syracuse chapter’s Academic Achievement Award and Excellence in Accounting Scholarship, and the American Society of Women Accountants Undergraduate Scholarship.

Hill’s contributions to the college’s Student Association include serving as director of finance for two years plus SA’s director of athletic affairs and chair of the Campus Recreation Board this year. The vice president of Beta Alpha Psi, he placed second in the 2007 Accounting Jeopardy Competition and is the VITA program’s site co-coordinator.

The Saratoga Springs resident has been president and founder of two student organizations: the Street Hockey Club and Oswego Guitar Club. Hill earned the local chapter of the state Society of CPAs’ Career Preparation Award and the Edward Austin Sheldon Scholar Award.

Camelio earned an American Chemical Society national analytic chemistry award and a federal SMART grant. The Rochester resident received two campus Scholarly and Creative Activity grants to research the total synthesis of a natural anticancer compound. He did a research fellowship at the University of Utah performing chemical research.

A three-year captain of the Laker track and field team, Camelio holds school records in the 60-yard dash and as a member of the 400-meter relay, 800-meter relay and spring medley relay teams. He twice earned Student-Athlete Awards of Excellence for having the highest team grade-point average.

MacMahon is a Merck-AAAS scholar, where his research focused on detection of the date-rape drug GHB. The Middletown resident earned the Pearle A. Monroe Scholarship for outstanding achievements in organic chemistry and the Dr. Walter Freund Memorial Scholarship for Oswego students considering medical school. MacMahon also received a campus Scholarly and Creative Activity grant.

He is captain of the Laker men’s swimming and diving team, has had the highest GPA on the team and is a member of the SUNY Athletic Conference All-Academic Team. MacMahon is president of the Shaun Cassidy Fan Club Improv Comedy Troupe and an emergency medical technician.

Richards is president of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society, and earned the William Tucker Award from Oswego’s Auxiliary Services for overall campus contributions. She is a member of women’s honor society Vega, communication studies honor society Lambda Pi Eta and Phi Kappa Phi.

The Nassau native is an active Oswego admissions intern and a three-year resident mentor in Johnson Hall, where she organized “Crochet for Children,” which taught students the hobby while donating resulting blankets to a children’s hospital. She was creator-producer-director of the WTOP-TV comedy show “C’est Cheese” and served as concert coordinator at WNYO-FM.

Abbott, Camelio, MacMahon and Richards all received Presidential Scholarships to attend Oswego in recognition of their past academic achievement and potential for success.

Oswego’s recipients were slated to receive the awards at a ceremony April 7 in Albany.

- END -

(Posted: Apr 01, 2009)

Tags: none