Human Subjects Committee

The faculty, staff, and students of Oswego State University are obligated to comply with Federal Department of Health and Human Services regulations for the protection of human participants in research. Any member of the campus community participating in a research project --including but not limited to laboratory experiments, field studies, and interviews -- is entitled to be free from possible injury and/or psychological harm and to maintain his/her personal privacy. The committee was formed to ensure that these guidelines are followed, therefore protecting human research participants used by researchers on our campus. Membership: the HSC comprises members from diverse backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities covered by this assurance, who have the professional competence necessary to review the specific research activities assigned to it. The optimal number of members is eight.

Membership for 2018-2019:

David Bozak, Chair, Psychology
Elizabeth Benevento, Health Promotion and Wellness
Isabelle Bichindaritz, Computer Science
Ioana Coman, Computer Science
Barry Friedman, School of Business
Charlene Harris, Human Development
Benjamin Ogwo, Career and Technical Educator Preparation
Sean Pfeil, Community Member
Jaclyn Schildkraut, Public Justice
Kristin Lee Sotak, School of Business
Laura Spenceley, Counseling & Psychological Services
Bastian Tenbergen, Computer Science
Katherine Thweatt, Communication Studies
Jason Zenor, Communication Studies