2020 History Award Recipients

The Mahar Memorial History Award

Recipient: Carolyn Zeitz
This award honors the late Marion Mahar (d. 1960), professor of modern history. The award is given each year at Honors Convocation to the outstanding graduating senior in the field of history.

The Virginia L. Radley Fellowship

Recipient: Ashley Scott
Created in 1998 as a tribute to Dr. Virginia L. Radley (d.1998), President Emerita, in honor of her commitment to academic excellence and for her years of service to SUNY Oswego. 

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students and teachers together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways.


  • John Cerenzio
  • Cherie Cuomo
  • Nicole Evans
  • Nathaniel Goldstein
  • Sean Isenbergh
  • Jessica Miller
  • Caitlin Ouellette
  • Ashley Scott
  • Molly Sullivan

The Distinguished Professor Geraldine Forbes Research Award

Recipient: Yohelina Maria
Named for Dr. Geraldine Forbes, who taught in the History Department from 1971–2012, and it honors Dr. Forbes’ commitment to undergraduate research.

The Jean Evans Memorial History Scholarship

Recipient: Nicholas Schmitt
Established by Michael Kirk in memory of his aunt, Jean Evans (d. 2011) who worked as an Administrative Assistant in the History Department for more than 25 years. The scholarship was established to reward an outstanding History major, preferably one from Oswego County, for good performance and campus involvement.