SUNY Oswego Admission Promise Program (APP)

SUNY Oswego is proud of its relationship with SUNY community colleges and has developed a program to guarantee admission as a transfer student. Selected students will be offered an opportunity to participate in the Admission Promise Program (APP). Through this program, students may enroll in a community college with the goal of having a spot reserved at SUNY Oswego as a transfer student. Participating students will be conditionally admitted to Oswego through APP provided they complete the following steps:

  • Complete the APP form.
  • Successfully complete at least 24 credit hours at a community college between the fall and spring semesters.
  • Maintain a cumulative GPA requirement of 2.5 or higher before transferring into most programs. Students applying for an Education program must meet a 3.0 GPA requirement.

Students begin their college careers at any of SUNY's 30 community colleges for many reasons – financial, academic, and personal. While many students choose to transfer after a year at community college, there are benefits to earning your Associate's Degree before transferring, such as to maximize savings. Reverse transfer is also an option for those students looking to earn their Associate's Degree. In SUNY, we guarantee the courses you take will transfer. Even by beginning at a partner community college, you can finish your Bachelor's Degree at SUNY Oswego in four years.

SUNY Community Colleges (by geographic region)


SUNY Adirondack
Clinton Community College
Columbia-Greene Community College
Fulton-Montgomery Community College
Herkimer County Community College
Hudson Valley Community College
Jefferson Community College
Mohawk Valley Community College
North Country Community College
Schenectady County Community College


SUNY Broome
Cayuga Community College
Corning Community College
Onondaga Community College
Tompkins-Cortland Community College 


Dutchess Community College
Fashion Institute of Technology
Nassau Community College
Rockland Community College
Suffolk County Community College
SUNY Orange
SUNY Sullivan
SUNY Ulster
Westchester Community College


Erie Community College
Finger Lakes Community College
Genesee Community College
Jamestown Community College
Monroe Community College
Niagara Community College