Visit Us

The best way to experience our friendly, learner-centered community is to visit.

Intro video

One video, 60 seconds, countless reasons to consider SUNY Oswego.

Student Life Featured Image
Get involved

Explore our nearly 200 clubs and organizations that can forge connections and create opportunities.

Alumni Featured Image
Homecoming returns

The first Homecoming in decades will unfold Nov. 14 with a host of spirited activities.

News and Events Featured Image
Oswego rising

Lakeshore college continues climb in ratings, reviews.

You are here

Worker tightropes on construction of Sheldon Hall pergola

Then: The first building on the modern Oswego campus had its cornerstone laid in summer 1911 with a full opening in 1913. Known first as the Normal School building, later informally as "Old Main," it took its current name of Sheldon Hall -- in honor of founder Edward Austin Sheldon -- in 1961 during the college's centennial celebration. Here a worker tightropes the pergola, or trellis-covered walkway, that used to lead from the building to the trolley tracks that connected to downtown Oswego. Despite many attempts, the pergola failed to hold up to Oswego's winters and the trolley line was later abandoned. (Photo courtesy of Penfield Library's Special Collections)

Workers atop Sheldon Hall's roof

Now: Sheldon has evolved from being the only campus building over the years, now hosting classroom space, a ballroom, housing for upperclass students, the offices of Admissions and Development and the Children's Center. As the building's iconic cupola seems to look on, workers are shown doing ongoing roof and facade renovations to keep the college's original building vital, graceful and beautiful nearly 100 years after it first opened. (Photo by Jim Russell)