Students walking in front of Shineman Center
Visit Us

The best way to experience our friendly, learner-centered community is to visit.

Students sitting next to Lake Ontario
Intro video

One video, 60 seconds, countless reasons to consider SUNY Oswego.

Three students walk across campus
Get involved

Explore our nearly 200 clubs and organizations that can forge connections and create opportunities.

Graduates pose during Reunion
Get ready for reunion

Join us for the biggest alumni party of the year, June 8 to 11!

Nighttime view of Sheldon Hall clocktower
Oswego rising

Lakeshore college continues climb in ratings, reviews.

You are here

Splinter Village

Photo courtesy of Penfield Library Special Collections, SUNY Oswego

Then: The Servicemembers' Readjustment Bill of 1944 — better known as the GI Bill — brought hundreds of World War II veterans to Oswego to study. The overall postwar enrollment surge, and shortage of places to house students, led then-President Ralph W. Swetman to acquire 25 former military barracks from Camp Shanks near Orangeburg in Rockland County to house veterans and their families starting in 1947. At peak, some 225 residents lived in the buildings' 74 units. Splinter Village, which stretched along the bluff behind what is now Park Hall, fostered an esprit de corps and sense of community. See our Splinter Village page for more details.

The Village

Now: The Village townhouse apartments, responding to student interest for a more independent campus living option, opened in fall 2010 to house 348 residents. Located near Glimmerglass Lagoon and open to juniors, seniors and graduate students, the Village represents the first new residential facility on campus in nearly four decades. A LEED Gold Certified green development that had students involved in the planning process, the Village attracted high demand from the moment it was announced.