Technology

Overview

Our Technology Department is among the largest of its type in the country with advanced facilities, robust student opportunities and very helpful faculty. Because of our long history, emphasis on problem solving and successful track record, our graduates are in demand especially to teach technology in schools throughout the state and beyond. We prepare knowledgeable, skillful and technologically literate professionals to serve education and business.

Majors and Programs

We offer bachelor of science degree programs in Technology Education and Technology Management. These programs provide an array of basic and advanced technical courses which are general in nature and taught with much hands-on experience in well-equipped facilities. Both programs may be pursued by either full-or part-time students. A Technology minor is also available.

A Technology Education master of science in education degree, combined with three years of relevant teaching experience, successful completion of the New York State-approved certification examinations and all other criteria qualifies the graduate to meet the state's professional certification requirements to teach the program in grades kindergarten through 12.

Student Opportunities

Most technology students enjoy the hands-on laboratory work best. Activities and projects become immersive activities that provide a positive outlet for this technical energy. Student competitions arise from time to time that truly test the abilities of each student.

Our Oswego Technology Education Association student club broadens classroom experience through a variety of programs to students willing to participate.

Faculty

Our dedicated faculty bring a wide variety of experience and research interest to a department that prepares students for success. See extended contact information on the Technology Department website.

Mark Hardy, Chair mark.hardy@oswego.edu
Judith Belt judith.belt@oswego.edu
John Belt john.belt@oswego.edu
Richard Bush richard.bush@oswego.edu
Thomas Kubicki thomas.kubicki@oswego.edu
Donna Matteson donna.matteson@oswego.edu
Michael Nehring michael.nehring@oswego.edu
Daniel Tryon daniel.tryon@oswego.edu
Mark Springston mark.springston@oswego.edu
Edward Zak edward.zak@oswego.edu
Teri Davis, Secretary teri.davis@oswego.edu

After Oswego

Our graduates are technology education teachers throughout the United States and in some foreign countries. Others have taken positions as manual arts therapists and in business fields such as management, personnel, supervision and training. Some graduates are self-employed.