Physics

Overview

Our physics program features a wide range of teaching and research equipment for our many opportunities. Undergraduate physics majors assist with original research projects in physics laboratories as part of their instructional program, gaining valuable practical experiences which serve them well after graduation. Undergraduate laboratories include electronics, optics, modern physics and electrical measurements.

Dr. Dale Zych - Department Chair
Office: 294A Shineman
Phone: 315-312-2388
Email: dale.zych@oswego.edu

Ms. Deborah J. Haynes - Department Secretary
Office: 294 Shineman Office
Hours: 8:00-11:45 Monday - Friday
Phone: 315-312-3044
Email: physics@oswego.edu

Dr. Anne Caraley - Full Time Faculty
Office: 258 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2681
Email: anne.caraley@oswego.edu
Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~caraley/

Dr. Kent Dristle - Adjunct Faculty
Office: 237 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2878
Email: kent.dristle@oswego.edu
Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~dristle/

Dr. Carolina Ilie - Full Time Faculty
Office: 254 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-5751
Email: carolina.ilie@oswego.edu
Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~ilie/

Dr. Shashi Kanbur - Full time Faculty
Office 252 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2679
Email: shashi.kanbur@oswego.edu
Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~kanbur/

Dr. Alok Kumar - Full Time Faculty
Office: 256 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2695
Email: alok.kumar@oswego.edu

K. Eric Mauser - Adjunct Faculty
Office: 292 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-3091
Email: kenneth.mauser@oswego.edu

Thomas McCaffrey - Adjunct Faculty
Office: 292 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2962
Email: Thomas.mccaffrey@oswego.edu

Carol Naron - Adjunct Faculty
Office: 294 Shineman Center
Phone: NA
Email: carol.naron@oswego.edu

Dr. Scott Roby
Office: 239 Shineman
Center Phone: 315-312-2790
Email: scott.roby@oswego.edu

John Rusho - Adjunct Faculty
Office: 292 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2803
Email: john.rusho@oswego.edu

Dr. Ildar Sabirianov 
Office: 293 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2680
Email: ildar.sabirianov@oswego.edu

Bruce Zellar - Technical Specialist
Office: 285 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2682
Email: bruce.zellar@oswego.edu

Dr. John Zielinski - Visiting Professor
Office: 255 Shineman Center
Phone: 315-312-2677
Email: john.zielinski@oswego.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Dr. Ronald Brown
Website: http://www.oswego.edu/academics/colleges_and_departments/departments/physics/faculty/brown.html

Dr. Ram Chaudhari

Roger Hinrichs

Paul Liebenauer

Majors and Programs

mccaffreycaraleyYou can pursue a bachelor of arts in Physics for a broad liberal education and a substantial physics component or a bachelor of science degree with a stronger physics component for students planning to do graduate work or eventually seek positions in research and development. The BS degree has two potential tracks: a traditional physics program, and one more geared toward those interested in a future in engineering.

Oswego offers a 3/2 program where students can work toward a bachelor degree in physics here before earning an engineering degree at a partnering institution.

Students pursuing an education degree can do so with a Physics Certification (grades 7 to 12). We also offer a Physics minor.

Student Opportunities

Physics students can join members the Society of Physics Students and Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society). They can follow undergraduate research opportunities as far as Brazil. The wealth of research of our faculty and information provided on the web by Penfield Library can contribute to the expansion of knowledge.

Faculty

Our physics department is more than computers and experimental equipment; we have dedicated individuals vitally interested in the success of students working together to achieve common goals. Our physics faculty work closely with individual students and student organizations. Members of our departments share a commitment to high-quality teaching and academic advisement.

Dr. Dale Zych - Department Chair Office: 294A Shineman Phone: 315-312-2388 Email: dale.zych@oswego.edu Ms. Deborah J. Haynes - Department Secretary Office: 294 Shineman Office Hours: 8:00-11:45 Monday - Friday Phone: 315-312-3044 Email: physics@oswego.edu Dr. Anne Caraley - Full Time Faculty Office: 258 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2681 Email: anne.caraley@oswego.edu Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~caraley/ Dr. Kent Dristle - Adjunct Faculty Office: 237 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2878 Email: kent.dristle@oswego.edu Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~dristle/ Dr. Carolina Ilie - Full Time Faculty Office: 254 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-5751 Email: carolina.ilie@oswego.edu Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~ilie/ Dr. Shashi Kanbur - Full time Faculty Office 252 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2679 Email: shashi.kanbur@oswego.edu Webpage: http://www.oswego.edu/~kanbur/ Dr. Alok Kumar - Full Time Faculty Office: 256 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2695 Email: alok.kumar@oswego.edu K. Eric Mauser - Adjunct Faculty Office: 292 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-3091 Email: kenneth.mauser@oswego.edu Thomas McCaffrey - Adjunct Faculty Office: 292 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2962 Email: Thomas.mccaffrey@oswego.edu Carol Naron - Adjunct Faculty Office: 294 Shineman Center Phone: NA Email: carol.naron@oswego.edu Dr. Scott Roby Office: 239 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2790 Email: scott.roby@oswego.edu John Rusho - Adjunct Faculty Office: 292 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2803 Email: john.rusho@oswego.edu Dr. Ildar Sabirianov Office: 293 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2680 Email: ildar.sabirianov@oswego.edu Bruce Zellar - Technical Specialist Office: 285 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2682 Email: bruce.zellar@oswego.edu Dr. John Zielinski - Visiting Professor Office: 255 Shineman Center Phone: 315-312-2677 Email: john.zielinski@oswego.edu EMERITUS FACULTY Dr. Ronald Brown http://www.oswego.edu/academics/colleges_and_departments/departments/physics/faculty/brown.html Dr. Ram Chaudhari Roger Hinrichs Paul Liebenauer

After Oswego

The strong foundation of our physics program paves the way for graduates to attend prestigious doctoral programs, pursue engineering careers or work in any number of job fields. For example, 1977 graduate Peggy Focarino currently serves as Deputy Commissioner for Patent Operations for the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.