Tags:  Music

Mon Feb 04, 2013
'Consummate ensemble' Ariel Quartet to perform

The renowned and well-traveled Ariel String Quartet will perform Wednesday, Feb. 20, at SUNY Oswego as part of the college’s Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Fri Jan 04, 2013
Cantus to perform, work with scholastic student singers

SUNY Oswego will present the award-winning Cantus men’s vocal ensemble at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 1, at Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre, after the group shares its expertise with chorale members at Oswego High School and Middle School.



Tue Nov 13, 2012
Alumnus musician to headline Oswego's Jazz Ensembles concert

SUNY Oswego’s Jazz Ensembles will perform at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 30, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre in a concert titled “It’s About Time” featuring Rochester guest musician and alumnus Tamar Greene.



Tue Nov 13, 2012
Festival Chorus to perform, dramatize 'Elijah' on Dec. 2

SUNY Oswego’s community-student choral ensemble, the Festival Chorus, will perform Mendelssohn’s oratorio “Elijah” in a free concert at 3:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 2, at St. Mary’s Church, 103 W. Seventh St. in Oswego.



Tue Oct 30, 2012
Front Bottoms to headline SUNY Oswego indie show

Up-and-coming band the Front Bottoms will headline an Indie Series concert Friday, Nov. 16, in the Hewitt Union lounge at SUNY Oswego.



Tue Oct 30, 2012
Concert pianist Auler to join symphony for SUNY Oswego performance

There will be an onstage reunion when pianist Robert Auler of SUNY Oswego appears with Symphony Syracuse at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 17, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre on campus.



Mon Oct 15, 2012
Choreographer, pianist to celebrate avant-garde composer John Cage

SUNY Oswego dance instructor Cheryl Wilkins-Mitchell will unveil original choreography and Robert Auler will play a specially prepared piano on Saturday, Oct. 27, in a 100th birthday salute to the late John Cage, a provocative and inventive rebel who transformed modern music.



Mon Oct 15, 2012
'Celtic Nights,' symphony to highlight 2012-13 Artswego series

From Oswego County to County Kilkenny, performers near and far are featured on SUNY Oswego’s 2012-13 Artswego Performing Artist Series.



Fri Sep 28, 2012
Symphony Syracuse Chamber Players to perform

Symphony Syracuse musicians will continue their mission to build appreciation for Central New York orchestral music when up to 18 members of their chamber ensemble perform at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 10, in SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Fri Sep 07, 2012
Jazz drummer Rich Thompson to showcase trio

Jazz percussionist Rich Thompson, a former member of the Count Basie Orchestra, will bring his Generations Trio to SUNY Oswego for a free concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 21, at the Campus Center auditorium.



Wed Sep 05, 2012
'Wicked' tenor to offer cabaret-style performance at SUNY Oswego

“Wicked” Broadway star Kyle Dean Massey will sing hits from “Aladdin,” “Altar Boyz,” “Les Miserables” and even an original from his own senior recital in an appearance at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 18, at SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Thu Aug 23, 2012
Ke-Nekt series to feature 'Wicked' star, Symphony Syracuse ensemble

A Broadway star from the cast of “Wicked” and members of a professional Syracuse orchestra working to resurrect itself will headline the first two performances in SUNY Oswego’s 2012-13 Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Thu Jul 19, 2012
SUNY Oswego communications win APEX honors

SUNY Oswego’s annual report, online alumni magazine and a video promoting the college production of “Grease” recently won recognition in the 2012 APEX Awards for Publication Excellence.



Fri Apr 20, 2012
'Golden age' of Broadway musicals to shine on SUNY Oswego stage

Favorite songs of hit Broadway plays—from “The Sound of Music” to “Oklahoma!”—will waft from the Waterman Theatre stage as the SUNY Oswego music department celebrates “An Evening of Rodgers and Hammerstein Classics” from May 4 to 6.



Fri Apr 13, 2012
College to offer evening of Rodgers and Hammerstein favorites

The SUNY Oswego music and theatre departments will present the hits of a legendary Broadway songwriting team in “The Music of Rodgers and Hammerstein” at 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, May 4 and 5, and 2 p.m. Sunday, May 6, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre.



Wed Apr 11, 2012
State Singers to offer vocal potpourri in free spring concert

SUNY Oswego’s State Singers will offer an eclectic concert of songs under the theme “On the Nature of Things” at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 26, at First United Methodist Church, 7111 State Route 104 in Oswego.



Tue Apr 03, 2012
Rufus Reid, 'one of the finest bassists,' to play, inform

Rufus Reid, whom SUNY Oswego faculty member Eric Schmitz calls “one of the finest bassists in the world,” will join Schmitz and the Oswego Jazz Project in concert Wednesday, April 18, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Fri Mar 02, 2012
Cuarteto Latinoamericano to perform at Oswego

Cuarteto Latinoamericano, known worldwide as the leading proponent of Latin American music for string quartet, will perform Wednesday, March 21, at SUNY Oswego as part of the Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Fri Feb 17, 2012
David Sanchez Group to bring Latin-flavored jazz to Oswego

Grammy-winning tenor saxophonist David Sanchez will bring a blend of Latin and Afro-Caribbean influences to a very American musical language in concert Wednesday, March 7.



Thu Feb 16, 2012
Variety marks SUNY Oswego's annual 'Collage' concert

SUNY Oswego groups will collaborate in a fast-paced and varied evening at the “Collage” concert, an annual fundraiser for the music department, on Friday, March 2.



Page 3 of 4.  <  1 2 3 4 >

» News & Events home