Tags:  Music

Tue Oct 01, 2013
Renowned trombonist to join Oswego Jazz Project for Oct. 13 concert

The Oswego Jazz Project will perform with well-known trombonist Keith Jackson at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 13, in SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom as part of the music department’s Focus on Faculty Series.



Wed Sep 25, 2013
Jazz guitarist Peter Bernstein to appear Oct. 9

SUNY Oswego’s Ke-Nekt series will present noted jazz guitarist Peter Bernstein in concert at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 9, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Wed Sep 18, 2013
Rich mix of genres to mark Ke-Nekt season series

SUNY Oswego’s Ke-Nekt music series will explore musical territory from instrumental to vocal, traditional chamber to jazz to an inventive brand of contemporary for its 2013-14 season.



Tue Aug 27, 2013
Faculty duo to focus on ancient dances, songs

The duo of SUNY Oswego faculty member and violinist Jon Shallit with pianist Howard Spindler from the University of Rochester’s Eastman School of Music will lead off the college’s annual Focus on Faculty Series at 3 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 8, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Mon Apr 29, 2013
Jazz concert to feature Cuban percussion master

Cuban master percussionist Emilio del Monte will perform with the SUNY Oswego Latin Jazz Ensemble and the Rochester-based Mambo Kings at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 8, in a free concert at Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre.



Mon Apr 22, 2013
College-Community Orchestra to feature works of two young composers

The works of two young composers will premiere in a free College-Community Orchestra concert at 4 p.m. Sunday, May 5, at SUNY Oswego’s Waterman Theatre.



Thu Apr 18, 2013
Trombonist-composer Davis to perform

Internationally known trombonist and composer Michael Davis, who has toured with the Rolling Stones, Frank Sinatra and other famous musicians, will appear in concert on Wednesday, May 1, at SUNY Oswego.



Tue Apr 16, 2013
'Mattress' to offer merry Renaissance romp

Princess Winnifred (Clare Bawarski) shows strong resolve to land her prince, Dauntless (Daniel Distasio), in SUNY Oswego’s production of “Once Upon a Mattress.”



Thu Apr 11, 2013
Choral concert to feature college ensembles, wide variety of songs

The SUNY Oswego College Choir, State Singers and Festival Chorus will perform Monday, April 29, in a free public concert featuring a cornucopia of compositions spanning the 16th century to the present day.



Mon Apr 01, 2013
Original 'inspirational' songs mark student Quest session

Mix two original musical compositions, an orchestra, a big band, a rapper, additional vocalists, a campus grant, a crowd-sourced Kickstarter campaign and an ongoing learning project. The result is an ambitious Quest presentation by SUNY Oswego senior music major Tony Iannone.



Thu Mar 14, 2013
Acclaimed Daedalus Quartet to perform April 10

SUNY Oswego will present the award-winning Daedalus Quartet, with longtime Oswego music professor Daniel Barach as host, in a Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series concert Wednesday, April 10.



Wed Feb 27, 2013
Collage Concert fundraiser to feature ensembles, solos

The SUNY Oswego music department will present its annual Collage Concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 8, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre.



Mon Feb 04, 2013
'Consummate ensemble' Ariel Quartet to perform

The renowned and well-traveled Ariel String Quartet will perform Wednesday, Feb. 20, at SUNY Oswego as part of the college’s Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Fri Jan 04, 2013
Cantus to perform, work with scholastic student singers

SUNY Oswego will present the award-winning Cantus men’s vocal ensemble at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 1, at Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre, after the group shares its expertise with chorale members at Oswego High School and Middle School.



Tue Nov 13, 2012
Alumnus musician to headline Oswego's Jazz Ensembles concert

SUNY Oswego’s Jazz Ensembles will perform at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 30, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre in a concert titled “It’s About Time” featuring Rochester guest musician and alumnus Tamar Greene.



Tue Nov 13, 2012
Festival Chorus to perform, dramatize 'Elijah' on Dec. 2

SUNY Oswego’s community-student choral ensemble, the Festival Chorus, will perform Mendelssohn’s oratorio “Elijah” in a free concert at 3:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 2, at St. Mary’s Church, 103 W. Seventh St. in Oswego.



Tue Oct 30, 2012
Front Bottoms to headline SUNY Oswego indie show

Up-and-coming band the Front Bottoms will headline an Indie Series concert Friday, Nov. 16, in the Hewitt Union lounge at SUNY Oswego.



Tue Oct 30, 2012
Concert pianist Auler to join symphony for SUNY Oswego performance

There will be an onstage reunion when pianist Robert Auler of SUNY Oswego appears with Symphony Syracuse at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 17, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre on campus.



Mon Oct 15, 2012
Choreographer, pianist to celebrate avant-garde composer John Cage

SUNY Oswego dance instructor Cheryl Wilkins-Mitchell will unveil original choreography and Robert Auler will play a specially prepared piano on Saturday, Oct. 27, in a 100th birthday salute to the late John Cage, a provocative and inventive rebel who transformed modern music.



Mon Oct 15, 2012
'Celtic Nights,' symphony to highlight 2012-13 Artswego series

From Oswego County to County Kilkenny, performers near and far are featured on SUNY Oswego’s 2012-13 Artswego Performing Artist Series.



Page 2 of 4.  <  1 2 3 4 >

» News & Events home