Tags:  Music

Wed Oct 05, 2016
Transformed Tyler Hall to take public bow in gala 'Take Two' week

The curtain rises Thursday, Oct. 27, for “Tyler Hall Take Two Debut,” SUNY Oswego’s festive week of marquee events and open houses welcoming the community, alumni and all of campus to the college’s renovated home for the fine and performing arts, as well as highlighting all that the School of Communication, Media and the Arts has to offer.

Wed Sep 28, 2016
Composer, musicians to honor jazz educator in Oct. 19 concert

SUNY Oswego faculty member, composer and percussionist Eric Schmitz and five colleagues will honor the jazz and music education legacy of the late Fred Sturm in a “Suite for Fred” performance at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 19, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Thu Sep 01, 2016
Crossover artists Black Violin to launch 20-city Unity Tour at SUNY Oswego

Classical/hip-hop crossover artists Kevin “Kev Marcus” Sylvester and Wil Baptiste, performing as Black Violin, will launch their coast-to-coast Unity Tour with a show at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 20, in the renovated Waterman Theatre at SUNY Oswego.

Mon Aug 29, 2016
SUNY Oswego music colleagues to solo with Central Winds ensemble

Central Winds, a 50-member Central New York wind ensemble, joins faculty piano and saxophone soloists Robert Auler and Trevor Jorgensen for a concerto at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 9, in Waterman Theatre in SUNY Oswego’s revitalized Tyler Hall.

Wed Aug 17, 2016
Ailey II Dancers to return for Artswego's 25th anniversary season

The Artswego Performing Arts Series at SUNY Oswego marks a quarter-century of presenting exceptional artists to Oswego and Central New York audiences. Highlighting the celebratory 2016-17 season is a return engagement by Ailey II, exuberant young New York City-based repertory ensemble.

Tue Aug 16, 2016
SUNY Oswego talents to lead expanded Oswego Youth Conservatory

The Oswego Youth Conservatory, a community-based, SUNY Oswego-led music enrichment program for area children, will add “Group Piano for Kids” this year to its “Choir Boot Camp” offering, thanks to the talent and time of Fulton natives Elizabeth and Evangeline Canfield.

Wed Jun 15, 2016
Two at SUNY Oswego win awards for scholarship, creativity

Ashraf Attia of SUNY Oswego’s School of Business faculty, who studies cross-cultural and e-commerce marketing and many topics in sales and service, and music faculty member Robert Auler, who has performed globally and worked locally to raise the profile of the arts, have received the college President’s Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity.

Thu Apr 21, 2016
Oswego faculty member's new chamber CD represents family album

A new CD features the music of a family of composers: SUNY Oswego music faculty member Eric Schmitz, his father and his brother.

Fri Apr 15, 2016
Favorite arias to crescendo in Pfortmillers' Ke-Nekt concert April 27

Accomplished opera singers Kyle Pfortmiller, a baritone, and soprano Laura Pfortmiller, whose careers have brought each to Oswego in the past, will perform duets and arias from grand opera composers at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 27, in SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Thu Mar 24, 2016
Oswego jazz groups to perform with Crane School Latin Ensemble

The SUNY Oswego Jazz Ensemble and Latin Jazz Ensemble will host SUNY Potsdam’s Crane School of Music Latin Ensemble in a free concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 1, in the Marano Campus Center auditorium.

Mon Mar 21, 2016
Duo Parnas strings to perform in SUNY Oswego, Pulaski concerts

The internationally accomplished sisters of Duo Parnas will take the stage Wednesday, April 6, at SUNY Oswego as well as the following day at Pulaski Congregational Church, a cooperative booking that helps two concert series offer a violin-cello ensemble that has attracted rave reviews.

Mon Feb 22, 2016
Ke-Nekt concert to feature renowned jazz bassist Larry Grenadier

Larry Grenadier, one of contemporary jazz’s most accomplished and in-demand bassists, will play with the Oswego Jazz Project—and in three duets with SUNY Oswego’s own award-winning upright bassist Danny Ziemann—at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 9, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Fri Feb 05, 2016
Afiara Quartet to bring its 'pursuit of beauty' to SUNY Oswego concert

The Afiara Quartet, a dynamic and award-winning strings ensemble, will perform as part of SUNY Oswego’s Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 24, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Fri Jan 29, 2016
Focus on Faculty concert Feb. 14 to feature classical works

SUNY Oswego music faculty duo Trevor Jorgensen and Robert Auler will offer a Focus on Faculty concert featuring works of Bach, Bernstein and Schumann at 3 p.m. Valentine’s Day, Sunday, Feb. 14, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Fri Oct 16, 2015
Accomplished pianist Helen Yorke to perform in Ke-Nekt series recital on Oct. 28

London-based pianist Helen Yorke will perform at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 28, in SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom, displaying a skill that helped make her a renowned vocal coach and accompanist.

Tue Oct 06, 2015
Oswego's Ke-Nekt series to feature accomplished chamber performers

A piano soloist, respected bassist, sisterly strings duo and husband-wife vocal team will highlight a six-performance season of SUNY Oswego’s Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.

Fri Oct 02, 2015
Vocal recital Oct. 18 to feature songs of Schubert, Debussy, Strauss

Accomplished soprano Carol Chapman will perform a feast of songs from across Europe at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 18, in SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom, assisted by past and present colleagues at Missouri State University.

Tue Sep 15, 2015
Oswego Jazz Project to welcome guest bassist for Oct. 4 concert

Guest bassist Dave Welsch will join Oswego Jazz Project at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 4, in Sheldon Hall ballroom for the season’s second SUNY Oswego Focus on Faculty concert.

Wed Sep 09, 2015
Williamsburg Salsa Orchestra to bring inventive Latin beat

Williamsburg Salsa Orchestra will offer Latin dance music influenced by indie rock at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 26, in Hewitt Union ballroom at SUNY Oswego.

Thu Sep 03, 2015
Electronic-music innovator to open Focus on Faculty series

Composer and SUNY Oswego music faculty member Dr. Paul Leary will present electronic music influenced by Nirvana, display a game-derived video project and feature live local instrumentalists at 3 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 20, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.

Page 1 of 6.  1 2 3 >  Last »

» News & Events home