Tags:  Artswego

Thu Sep 27, 2012
Bengali film 'Runaway' catches up with politician who vanished

SUNY Oswego’s On Screen/In Person film series will present the Bengali film “Runaway” at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 9, at Oswego Cinema 7, 138 W. Second St.



Mon Sep 10, 2012
'Gen Silent' focuses on gay seniors' struggles in film series kickoff

“Gen Silent,” a critically acclaimed documentary about aging in the gay community, will lead off SUNY Oswego’s On Screen/In Person film series at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 25, at Oswego Cinema 7, 138 W. Second St. Producer and director Stu Maddux will answer audience questions after the film.



Wed Sep 05, 2012
'Wicked' tenor to offer cabaret-style performance at SUNY Oswego

“Wicked” Broadway star Kyle Dean Massey will sing hits from “Aladdin,” “Altar Boyz,” “Les Miserables” and even an original from his own senior recital in an appearance at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 18, at SUNY Oswego’s Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Thu Aug 23, 2012
Ke-Nekt series to feature 'Wicked' star, Symphony Syracuse ensemble

A Broadway star from the cast of “Wicked” and members of a professional Syracuse orchestra working to resurrect itself will headline the first two performances in SUNY Oswego’s 2012-13 Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Tue Apr 03, 2012
Film to combat stereotypes of rural Africans' lives, conservation styles

“Milking the Rhino,” a documentary that attempts to break through what its director calls the “haze” of Western stereotypical reporting on Africa, will screen at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 17, at the Oswego Cinema, 138 W. Second St., as the final installment in SUNY Oswego’s On Screen/In Person film series.



Mon Mar 19, 2012
International singing star Arif Lohar to wrap cultural series

A Campus Center arena concert will bring internationally known Pakistani singers Arif Lohar and Arooj Aftab to SUNY Oswego at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 11.



Fri Mar 02, 2012
Cuarteto Latinoamericano to perform at Oswego

Cuarteto Latinoamericano, known worldwide as the leading proponent of Latin American music for string quartet, will perform Wednesday, March 21, at SUNY Oswego as part of the Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series.



Fri Feb 17, 2012
David Sanchez Group to bring Latin-flavored jazz to Oswego

Grammy-winning tenor saxophonist David Sanchez will bring a blend of Latin and Afro-Caribbean influences to a very American musical language in concert Wednesday, March 7.



Wed Feb 01, 2012
Filmmaker Ayesha Khan to offer alternate view of Pakistan

Filmmaker Ayesha Khan, who has been called a bright new voice in Pakistan’s burgeoning film industry, will discuss the documentary “Made in Pakistan” as part of a three-day campus residency for the Caravanserai cultural engagement program.



Thu Jan 26, 2012
'Lion King' choreographer, dance company coming

Garth Fagan, Tony Award-winning choreographer of “The Lion King,” will bring his Rochester-based dance troupe to SUNY Oswego for a performance at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 10, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre.



Wed Jan 25, 2012
SUNY Oswego Indie Music Series to feature 3 acts Feb. 3

SUNY Oswego’s Indie Music Series will present a bill of Brown Bird, Larcenist and Sam Katz at 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 3, in Sheldon Hall ballroom.



Wed Jan 11, 2012
Performer to present imaginative 'The Truth: A Tragedy'

Performance artist Cynthia Hopkins will bring her imaginative one-woman show “The Truth: A Tragedy” to SUNY Oswego for a 7:30 p.m. performance Friday, Jan. 27, in Tyler Hall’s Waterman Theatre.



Fri Oct 28, 2011
Actor to present mini-musical 'Love Cures Cancer'

Paul Rajeckas will highlight a zany but loving Lithuanian family in his one-man musical “Love Cures Cancer” Wednesday and Thursday, Nov. 9 and 10, at SUNY Oswego.



Mon Oct 24, 2011
Blues guitarist to perform Nov. 5 at SUNY Oswego

Guitarist Buddy Whittington will perform at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 5, in the ballroom of Sheldon Hall at SUNY Oswego as part of the college’s Artswego performing arts series.



Fri Sep 30, 2011
Pakistani performers to offer poetic vocals, pulse-pounding rhythms

Over its long history, the land comprising modern-day Pakistan has produced varied musical traditions and styles. SUNY Oswego’s Artswego will present Central New Yorkers a sample at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 15, at the Ralph M. Faust Auditorium at Oswego High School.



Tue Sep 27, 2011
Pakistani performers to bridge cultures through music

SUNY Oswego’s Artswego Performing Arts Series will offer creative and educational encounters in an October week packed with events around the visit of distinguished musical groups from Pakistan, the vanguard of “Caravanserai: A Place Where Cultures Meet.”



Wed Aug 31, 2011
Actress Judith Sloan to convey immigrant experience

Actress Judith Sloan will give voice to the hopes and challenges of immigrants in her multimedia performance “Crossing the BLVD” at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday, Sept. 14 and 15, in SUNY Oswego’s Waterman Theatre.



Mon Aug 15, 2011
Artswego's season series to share a world of tales

Artswego at SUNY Oswego will offer a 2011-12 season that celebrates the universal act of storytelling.



Wed Aug 10, 2011
'Crossing the BLVD' to tell immigrants' inspiring tales

SUNY Oswego will launch a year of “Telling Tales: The Arts and Discovery” with the opening of an interactive, multimedia art exhibition that brings alive the stories of immigrants and refugees in a “modern-day Ellis Island where cultures overlap in chaotic co-existence.”



Tue Jul 26, 2011
'Caravanserai' to promote understanding of Pakistani cultures

SUNY Oswego’s Artswego will be among only five arts organizations nationwide to host groundbreaking performances, campus residencies and community dialogues in the first year of a program aimed at fostering better understanding of cultures throughout the many-hued world of Islam.



Page 2 of 3.  <  1 2 3 >

» News & Events home