Faculty Hall of Fame: Linda Syrell Tyrrell

Faculty Hall of Fame: Linda Syrell Tyrrell

In 25 years marked by “changes, challenges and celebrations,” Linda Syrell Tyrrell served three divisions at SUNY Oswego. Whether in Student Affairs, Academic Services or Administration, she was constant in her advocacy for students. Arriving in 1969 to a burgeoning campus, Tyrrell spent one year as residence hall director of Lonis-Moreland-Mackin before moving to Seneca,

Long Run in Theatre Department Closing for Professor, Actor, Playwright

Mark Cole ’73 teaches during his final semester before retirement.

In 1979, Mark Cole ’73 debuted as an instructor in Oswego’s department of speech and theatre. He agreed to a one-year commitment. Thirty-five years later, the curtain falls on his final exit from a remarkable performance. He says he doesn’t know exactly how retirement will play, but he will continue to write and perform. Teaching

Curtain Up on Professor’s Plays and Pedagogy

Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Brad Korbesmeyer

Brad Korbesmeyer teaches advanced playwriting in Lee Hall dance space because, he says, “Plays are not for the page; they’re for the stage.” In his 22nd year at Oswego, Korbesmeyer is associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. But, this recipient of the President’s Advisor of the Year Award and Chancellor’s Award

Developing Dichotomies into Balance

Professor Juan Perdiguero

Black and white. Animalistic and humanistic. Public and private. Technique and passion. Professor Juan Perdiguero has manipulated opposing elements into a harmonious and satisfying life as an artist and a teacher. Using only paper towels, cotton swabs and his hands, he draws large-scale, lifelike images of mostly dogs and monkeys by wiping away black etching

Professor Opens Ears and Minds to Classical Music

Juan Francisco La Manna

Juan Francisco La Manna tells the story as it has been told to him. He’s at a family gathering. He’s 4. He jumps atop a table and sings a rousing aria from Rigoletto. The amused adults are unified in their response: piano lessons. As a teenager in Venezuela, La Manna was simultaneously attending high school

College Names New Vice President

Jerald Woolfolk

Jerald Woolfolk is the new vice president for student affairs and enrollment management, effective Jan. 1. She succeeds Joseph Grant who retired in 2012. Woolfolk oversees admissions, financial aid, auxiliary services, residence life and housing, student conduct and compliance, Mary Walker Health Center and the counseling center, campus life, athletics, student advisement, orientation and career

Seago Legacy Gift Brings Future Into Focus

James and Marilyn Seago

In a career that has spanned 46 years in the Oswego biology department, James Seago, Ph.D., has been recognized twice by the Botanical Society of America. He received an award in 2004 for outstanding contributions to the botanical sciences and another in 2006 for exemplary service to the plant sciences. He is nationally known for

SUNY Oswego Expands Relationship With Zhejiang University

SUNY Oswego Expands Relationship With Zhejiang University

SUNY Oswego President Deborah F. Stanley and Zhejiang Sci-Tech University Chairman Fei Junqing sign an agreement to jointly deliver bachelor’s degrees to Chinese students in three business-related majors: business administration, human resource management and marketing. The two institutions’ relationship began in 2007, and more than 60 students from the Chinese university have since studied at

SUNY Oswego-ESF Pact Encourages Teacher Training in Sciences

SUNY Oswego-ESF Pact Encourages Teacher Training in Sciences

SUNY Oswego President Deborah F. Stanley and SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry President Cornelius B. Murphy Jr. have signed an agreement that enables ESF graduates who fulfill a prescribed curriculum to enter a graduate-level initial teacher certification master’s degree program at Oswego. Barbara Garii, associate dean of SUNY Oswego’s School of Education, called