Lake E-ffect Newsletter banner SUNY Oswego logoJuly 2011 • Vol 7 • No 4

Sustainability Team in Place

The President's Climate Commitment and Environmental Sustainability Team was formed this spring and charged by President Deborah F. Stanley with creating a plan to make Oswego a more environmentally sustainable campus.

Sustainability team

Members took part in a retreat led by Lee Davis and Rob Neimeier from the engineering firm O'Brien and Gere, with a goal to creating a sustainability roadmap for Oswego's future.

The team, which features representatives from across campus, is expected to:

* Make climate neutrality and sustainability an integral part of the curriculum and campus life

* Research, develop and implement strategies to improve sustainability with special attention paid to the impact sustainability practices have on diverse populations

* Seek government and foundation grants, gifts and sponsored research opportunities to support the college's climate and environmental sustainability commitment in the areas of operations, teaching, research, and community service

* Measure, evaluate, record, archive, and communicate our environmental impact

* Develop and offer community programs that will increase the community's awareness and commitment to sustainability options

* Engage other institutions and organizations in this initiative.

The team is part of the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment, a nationwide network of more than 1,500 colleges and universities focused on combating global warming. It was signed by President Stanley in 2007.

Members included in the picture above are, back row from left, Theatre and Sociology major Nick Pike '12, co-chair John Moore of Facilities Design and Construction, Tim Braun of Biological Sciences, Eric Foertch of Health and Safety and, front row from left, Barbara Shaffer of Penfield Library, Judith Belt of Technology Education, Kim Armani of the Metro Center, Rebecca Nadzadi of Campus Life and Betsy Oberst of Alumni and Development. Absent from the photo are co-chair Casey Raymond of Chemistry, Lisa Langlois of Art, Mike Flaherty of Auxiliary Services, Rick Kolenda of Residence Life and Housing and Larry Perras of Small Business Development.

— Staff reports

Back to July front page
• Next story: Brazil Experience • Previous story: Village Green

Link to Oswego Alumni Events

OsweGo Connect

Make a Gift

Twitter Facebook
RSS Feed LinkedIn

Bank of AmericaLiberty Mutual

Oswego Alumni Association, Inc.· King Alumni Hall - SUNY Oswego • Oswego, NY 13126
315-312-2258 • 315-312-5570 (fax) • E-mail: • Web site: