Nominations for SUNY Awards Selection Committee

Procedure for 2014-15

September, 2014

TO:           All Faculty, Professional Staff, Administrators, and Students

FROM:      Michael Ameigh, Asst. Provost for Budget and Operations

RE:           Nominations for SUNY Awards Selection Committee

The process by which SUNY Oswego recommends nominees for SUNY Awards and promotion to Distinguished Professorships involves the actions of a selection committee.  Faculty Assembly policy calls for the election of that committee to consider nominations for the following categories:

Distinguished Professorship
Distinguished Teaching Professorship

Distinguished Service Professorship
Distinguished Librarian
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Librarianship
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching
Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching
Chancellor's Award for Shared Governance
(campus may self-nominate)

To download guidelines for these faculty recognition opportunities, please visit the following website:

The selection committee is responsible for soliciting campus nominations, reviewing nomination files, evaluating all nominees, and ranking nominations as a recommendation for action by the President.

The composition of the selection committee is as follows: One voting faculty member (with a minimum of ten years of service at Oswego) each from the School of Business, School of Education, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, Media and the Arts; one voting faculty member with distinguished rank; one at-large voting faculty member; two undergraduate students; one graduate student; one professional staff member; Chair of Faculty Assembly (or designee); one administrative liaison designated by the President (ex-officio committee member).  If there are nominations for the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Librarianship, the selection committee will be augmented by two librarians with voting faculty status and continuing appointment.  The augmented selection committee members shall be responsible for the nominations for the librarianship award only.  Faculty appointments to the selection committee are for staggered three-year terms.  Distinguished rank faculty representative is a two-year term.

This year nominations are requested for the following vacancies:

Undergraduate Students (2)
Graduate Student (1)
Librarians (2)
Faculty, School of Business (1)
Faculty, School of Communication, Media and the Arts (1)
Faculty, School of Education (1)

To nominate, lease download the nomination form

Any student, administrator, voting faculty, or professional staff member may make any number of nominations for the selection committee membership. Nominations in writing are due to in the Provost's Office, 702 Culkin Hall, by Friday, October 31, 2014.  Voting faculty and students will receive ballots to vote for nominees after this date.