Theatre Department



directed by Christopher Carter Sanderson
adapted from Euripides by Matthew Gasda

Hewitt Union Ballroom
October 22, 23, 24, 29, 30 and 31
Considered to be Euripides' greatest tragedy, author Matthew Gasda updates the classic The Bacchae for the next generation in this world premier.  Gasda's adaptation integrates the chorus into the plot, and the god is not a distant presence rather a character.    "A great script; intense, poetic, bloody, sexy, intellectually provocative and authentic," states NYC based and Oswego State director Christopher Carter Sanderson, The Bacchae will awaken your appreciation for classic Greek theatre.


Dionysus- Nick Cocks
Pentheus- Khari Constantine
Camdus- Max Fehr
Tiresias- Wyatt Gilbert
Acteon- Ervin Bautista
Heimon- Matt McCabe
Lykos- Iury Esquarcio
Agave/Ghosts Chorus Leader- Alyssa Scruton
Ghosts Chorus/ Understudy Tiresias- Emma Johnson
Ghosts Chorus/Understudy Cadmus-  Remington
Ghosts Chorus/Understudy Heimon- Robert O'Leary
Ghosts Chorus- Elsa Neider
Raving Ones Chorus Leader/Understudy Dionysus- Anna Richardson
Raving Ones Chorus/Understudy Pentheus-  Libbie Wansink
Raving Ones Chorus/Understudy Lykos- Emily Stott
Raving Ones Chorus/Understudy Ghost Chorus Leader- Alex Matsu
Raving Ones Chorus/Understudy Raving Ones Chorus Leader-  Kelci Schlierf
Understudy Acteon- Ghosts Chorus/Understudy-  Spencer Ventresca

a devised theatre project with the University of Calcutta
sponsored by the Office of the Provost and International Education

Hewitt Union Ballroom
Saturday, December 5 • 2p

An intercultural production written, produced and cast by visiting scholars from the University of Calcutta India.  The performance centers around five Asian youth who move to New York City and their struggle to cope with a new culture, social mores, and bullying.  When displaced youth turn to drugs and alcohol to thwart with their insecurities the group discovers the answers are in self-acceptance, kindness and that everyone faces challenges regardless of skin color or nationality.  Watch a clip from the performance produced at the University of Calcutta:

written by Agatha Christie
a student honors production directed by Anna Richardson

Hewitt Union Ballroom
March 3, 4, 5, 11,12, 13

A group of strangers is stranded in a lodge during a snow storm, one of whom is a murderer.  Suspects include the newly married couple house keepers, a spinster with a curious background, an architect, a retired Army major, a strange little man who claims his car has overturned in a drift, and a jurist who makes life miserable for everyone. Into their midst comes a policeman, who no sooner arrives, when the jurist is killed.  A classic who done it by one of the world's most famous mystery writers. Produced under arrangement with Samuel French, Inc.


Stage Direction by Christopher Carter Sanderson

Music Direction by Todd Graber

Hewitt Union Ballroom
April 21, 22, 23, 29 and May 1

The Pirates of Penzance host a sherry party to celebrate the Frederic's status of full-blown Pirate King upon his 21st birthday, whereby Frederic abruptly declares his distaste for the pirates' life and intent to leave.  Having spent his youth aboard the ship, Frederic has only laid eyes on his maid yet now has fallen head over heals for Mabel the songbird daughter of Major General Stanley.  A modern score filled with wit and whimsy, this classic by Gilbert and Sullivan is a delightful comedic romp.


Oswego State is a member of National Association of Schools of Theatre and housed within the School of Communication Media and the Arts.