Student Awards

Recent award winners:


De Ritter Award: Ben Valentino, Rebecca Tango (senior),  Laura Murtha (junior)
Wolcott Award: Jackie Maguire, Kailea Nelson
Stopher Award: Erika Wilson


DeRitter award: Richard DiSalvo, Ben Valentino
Stopher award: Zach Schrecengost
Walcott award: Jordana O'Brien 


DeRitter award: Daniel Ruley, Matthew Sartwell
Stopher award: Jordana O'Brien
Walcott award: Ashley Foster, Katherine Grzesik and Julie McCormick

Louis R. DeRitter Award

Each year the mathematics faculty select outstanding junior and/or senior math students to receive this award. This award is given in memory of Professor DeRitter, a longtime member of the Oswego Mathematics Department. Award winners are chosen for their performance in upper division math courses.

 Emmet Stopher Calculus Award

The Emmet Stopher Calculus Award is awarded to the outstanding freshman calculus student. This honor is appropriately named as Dr. Stopher received a similar award as a college freshman. Professor Stopher was appointed in 1957; served as Chairman of the Mathematics Department from 1958 to 1967 and retired as Professor Emeritus in 1979.

John Walcott Award

The John Walcott Award is given by the Mathematics Department to Elementary and Secondary Education majors with a concentration in Mathematics. It recognizes consistent excellent performance in the Mathematics courses required for the concentration. The award is named for John Walcott, who was a member of the department for many years.

The Mathematics Honors Award

The Mathematics Honors Award is received by students completing the Mathematics Honors Program. The Honors Program gives exceptional students the opportunity to study course material in greater depth. To be selected for the program, applicants must have completed their sophomore year with a 3.0 overall G.P.A. and a 3.4 mathematics G.P.A. Interested students should see their advisor.