"Teaching is not about the amount of knowledge one passes on, but the enduring excitement one generates."    --Gary Gutting, from The New York Times

The faculty of the creative writing program is absolutely committed to the professional growth and well-being of our students. Recently the program underwent a six-year review and the national evaluators had this to say: "When we asked the students what the program's top strengths were, we heard the following repeatedly-amazing, passionate, experienced, caring faculty who are always available to help." 

Faculty are published and produced professionals. As the national evaluators wrote: "Encouraging to us was the acknowledgement by many students that they had come to Oswego after researching several other universities, specifically because of the reputation and promise the faculty of the creative writing program held for their pre-existing ambition to write.  This confirmed our judgment of the faculty and curriculum that creative writing at Oswego is poised to become a program of national prominence, drawing students to campus from beyond the immediate region."

The faculty have won awards (from the Flannery O'Connor Award in Short Fiction to the Annie Dillard Award for Creative Nonfiction), they have had Hollywood screenplays produced and novels made into movies, and their plays have been performed internationally.   They have won teaching awards and scholarship prizes.  And each of us is devoted to passing our professional experience and knowledge on to our students.

Laura Donnelly

Juliet Giglio

Charles Itzin

Krista Knight

Brad Korbesmeyer

Linda Loomis

Timothy McCoy

Christine Motto

Robert O'Connor

Stephanie Pritchard

Donna Steiner

Leigh Allison Wilson - Director of Creative Writing