Faculty and Staff

C & I Department Office | Location: 214-Suite Hewitt Union | Phone: 312-4061 | Fax: 312-5446 
C & I Advisement Office | Location: 213-Hewitt Union | Phone: 312-5641 | Fax: 312-5446
Email: Undergrad: ciugrad@oswego.edu | Graduate: cigrad@oswego.edu

Index (Full-Time)

Jean Ann
Barbara Beyerbach
Marcia Burrell (Department Chair)
Cathy Crary
R. Deborah Davis
Anne Fairbrother  
Amanda Fenlon
  
Alfred Frederick 
Jean Hallagan
Bonita Hampton
Jennifer Kagan
Sharon Kane
Jacquelyn Kibbey
Sandra Kyle (Advisement Coordinator)
Virginia MacEntee
Faith Maina
Doreen Mazzye
Carolyn McKeever

Selena Miller (C&I Part-time Secretary)
Maria Murray
Eric Olson
Joanne O'Toole
David Parisian
Dennis Parsons
Bruce Long Peng
Tania Ramalho
Pat Russo
Roberta Schnorr
Vanessa Sereno ( C&I Secretary) 
Elizabeth Smith (Assistant Advisement Coordinator)
Stancy Smith (C&I Secretary)
Elizabeth Stevens
Christine Walsh
Carol Willard
Harrison Hao Yang

Jean Ann

Professor
Ph.D. University of Arizona, 1993.
Appointed 1998.
Educational Foundations & TESOL, Sign languages of Deaf communities.
Office: 310A Park
Phone: 312-2635
Email: jean.ann@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Barb Beyerbach

Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1985.
Appointed 1986.
Methods of Teaching.
Office: 216B Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2650
Email: barbara.beyerbach@oswego.edu  
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~beyerbac

Back to Top

Marcia Burrell

Professor and Department Chairperson 
Ph.D. Walden University, 2006.
Appointed 2006.
Childhood & Adolescence Math Methods, Assessment & Foundations
Office: 217A Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-4061
Email: marcia.burrell@oswego.edu  
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~burrell

Back to Top

Cathy Crary

Visiting Assistant Professor
M.S. SUNY Oswego, 1998.
Appointed 1999.
Methods & Social Studies.
Office: 204A Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-6275
Email: catherine.crary@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

R. Deborah Davis-Perry

Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1996.
Appointed 2002.
Multicultural Education, Social Studies Methods.
Office: 215A Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2652
Email: rdeborah.davis@oswego.edu
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~rddavis

Back to Top

Anne Fairbrother

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of New Mexico, 2004.
Appointed 2004.
Literacy Education.
Office: 204B Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-3216
Email: anne.fairbrother@oswego.edu
Web: https://sites.google.com/a/oswego.edu/afairbrother/

Back to Top

Amanda Fenlon

Associate Professor
Ed.D. Syracuse University, 1991.
Appointed 2001.
Special Education, Foundation of Special Education, Methods in Special Education.
Office: 216A Suite
Phone: 312-2642
Email: amanda.fenlon@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Alfred Frederick

Distinguished Service Professor (2010)
Ph.D. 1975
Appointed 1985.
Curriculum Development, Teaching Methods, Multicultural Education, Secondary Science Methods, Middle School workshop, Foundation of Education
Office: 208 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2643
Email: alfred.frederick@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Jean Hallagan

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2003.
Appointed 2004.
Mathematics Education.
Office: 209 Hewitt Union
Phone:  312-2444                   
Email: jean.hallagan@oswego.edu 

Back to Top

Bonita Hampton

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Buffalo, 1998.
Appointed 2002.
Office: 215 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2933
Email: bonita.hampton@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Jennifer Kagan

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2001.
Appointed 2001.
Reading and Language Arts.
Office: 205 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2662
Email: jennifer.kagan@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Sharon Kane

Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1989.
Appointed 1989.
Literacy & English Methods.
Office: 207 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2660
Email: sharon.kane@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Jacquelyn Kibbey

Associate Professor
Ph.D. The Ohio State University, 1977.
Appointed 1991.
Secondary Methods & Art Education.
Office: 216C Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2647
Email: jacquelyn.kibbey@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Sandra Kyle

Advisement Coordinator
Appointed 2004.
Office: 213C Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-5641
Email: sandra.kyle@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Virginia MacEntee

Emeritus Associate Professor
Ed.D. Nova Southeastern Florida University, 1984.
Appointed 1999.
Special Education.
Office: 250G Wilber
Phone: 312-2661
Email: virginia.macentee@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Faith Maina

Professor
Ph.D. University of British Columbia, 1998.
Appointed 2000.
Educational Research.
Office: 206 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2045
Email: faith.maina@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Doreen Mazzye

Visiting Assistant Professor
Appointed 2012.
Office: 202 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2633
Email. doreen.mazzye@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Carolyn McKeever

Visiting Assistant Professor
M.S. Ball State University, 1997
Appointed 2002.
Social Studies Methods.
Office: 205 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2644
Email: carolyn.mckeever@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Selena Miller

Part-time Secretary
Office: 214Suite Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-4082
Email: selena.miller@oswego.edu 

Back to Top

Maria Murray

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2009.
Appointed 2008.
Literacy Education.
Office: 211 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2929
Email: maria.murray@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Eric Olson

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Iowa, 1995.
Appointed 2000.
Science Education.
Office: 217B Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2646
Email: eric.olson@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Joanne O'Toole

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2010.
Appointed 2010.
Modern Language and Childhood Education.
Office: 218 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2634
Email: joanne.otoole@oswego.edu
Web: https://sites.google.com/a/oswego.edu/language-education/home

Back to Top

David Parisian

Visiting Assistant Professor
Appointed 2012.
Office: 210 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2653
Email: david.parisian@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Dennis Parsons

Professor
Ph.D. New York University, 1999.
Appointed 2000.
Reading/Literacy.
Office: 201 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2655
Email: dennis.parsons@oswego.edu
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~dparsons

Back to Top

Bruce Long Peng

Professor
Ph.D. University of Arizona, 1992.
Appointed 2001.
Educational Research, English as a Secondary Language, Linguistics.
Office: 310B Park
Phone: 312-2663
Email: long.peng@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Tania Ramalho

Professor
Ph.D. The Ohio State University, 1985.
Appointed 2000.
Foundations of Education.
Office: 217C Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2631
Email: tania.ramalho@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Patricia Russo

Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1995.
Appointed 1996.
Foundations, Diversity, and Urban Education; Qualitative Research.
Office: 310C Park
Phone: 312-2632
Email: pat.russo@oswego.edu
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~prusso1

Back to Top

Roberta Schnorr

Professor
Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1991.
Appointed 1992.
Special Education.
Office: 216A Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-3107
Email: roberta.schnorr@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Vanessa Sereno

Secretary
Office: 214Suite Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-4061
Email: vanessa.sereno@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Elizabeth Smith

Assistant Advisement Coordinator
Appointed 2010.
Office: 213D Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-5641
Email: beth.smith@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Stancy Smith

Secretary
Appointed 1977.
Office: 213F Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-4052
Email: stancy.smith@oswego.edu  

Back to Top

Elizabeth Stevens

Assistant Professor
Ph. D. Syracuse University, 2014.
Appointed 2014.
Literacy Education
Office 217D Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-3875
Email: elizabeth.stevens@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Christine Walsh 

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ed.D. Syracuse University, 1990.
Appointed 2010.
English and Literacy Education.
Office: 202A Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-3070
Email: christine.walsh@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Carol Willard

Assistant Professor
M.S. Trenton State College.
Appointed 2012.
Office: 203 Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-6282
Email: carol.willard@oswego.edu

Back to Top

Harrison Hao Yang

Professor
Ed.D. Florida International University, 1996.
Appointed 1997.
Instructional Technology.
Office: 216D Hewitt Union
Phone: 312-2651
Email: harrison.yang@oswego.edu
Web: http://www.oswego.edu/~hyang2

Back to Top